HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: A650 Limits
PostPosted: Fri Jun 04, 2021 9:09 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:31 am
Posts: 30
How do i findout if my A650 Array has reach its limits, and require an upgrade to A670 ?

or what is the trigger point i should stop introducing new workload to the array and get another array ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A650 Limits
PostPosted: Mon Jun 07, 2021 8:31 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1307
Location: Europe
JinSXS wrote:
How do i findout if my A650 Array has reach its limits, and require an upgrade to A670 ?

or what is the trigger point i should stop introducing new workload to the array and get another array ?

A very generic answer, when your latency increases.

Your problem is probably that by the time you notice the latency it's too late :)

Depending on know scared you are about this issue, HPE provide a performance analysis (paid service) where they will measure the load for multiple days/weeks and provide a detailed performance overview compared to assumed maximum performance of the system. Do one every X months to monitor how the load increases to get an understanding of when you need to stop scale up and start scaling out.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A650 Limits
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 1:07 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1299
Location: Dallas, Texas
Good question.

The short answer is HPE created a saturation % metric in Infosight and SSMC to help you measure that.

The long answer is it depends. QoS can help maintain a required latency on certain hosts, while non-latency sensitive applications "take the hit" to mitigate saturation. Troubleshooting should be done to locate the performance bottleneck to confirm controller upgrade is the right answer, and its not something else, like SAN bottleneck, or improper zoning thats the cause.

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A650 Limits
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 9:58 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:31 am
Posts: 30
can controller CPU % be proper assessment too ?

yes i understand the saturation, is one key point...

cause somehow my 4N the node pair 0/1 seems to have 20 to 30% higher utilization compared with my pair 2/3

thats why i was wondering if im reaching the limits considering the CPU % on pair 0/1


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A650 Limits
PostPosted: Fri Jun 11, 2021 10:58 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1307
Location: Europe
JinSXS wrote:
can controller CPU % be proper assessment too ?

yes i understand the saturation, is one key point...

cause somehow my 4N the node pair 0/1 seems to have 20 to 30% higher utilization compared with my pair 2/3

thats why i was wondering if im reaching the limits considering the CPU % on pair 0/1


If all hosts are zoned to all nodes and all traffic is RR so all nodes have the same traffic I would log a case.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A650 Limits
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2021 12:15 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1299
Location: Dallas, Texas
That is a sign that nodes 0/1 are doing more work. Check if nodes 0/1 being used for remote replication while 2/3 are not.... also check how many hosts are attached to nodes 0/1 vs 2/3, and lastly check if you have more drives owned by nodes 0/1. If you can determine a logical explanation for the imbalance, that can help you get on the right track.

CPU% is a less critical metric on Primera than it was on 3PAR, because the storage services no longer run in kernel like the 3PAR did. Some of the Primera secret-sauce is the prioritization and automatic management of serving IO with low latency while still doing the background work required, like raid rebuilds, checksumming, garbage collection, compaction, etc.

What are you seeing CPU utilization wise across the 4 nodes?

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: A650 Limits
PostPosted: Sat Jun 26, 2021 11:28 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:31 am
Posts: 30
there also seems to be another reason
as we started off with 2node then upgraded to 4 nodes,

most of the vv 95% of them the master is owned by 0/1 , according to support
somehow this is causing a higher utilization and they say there is a case with engineering about this, but can't say when it will be fix or how do we manually rebalance the mstr values on the vv


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt