HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Primera Controller Performance
PostPosted: Wed Jul 01, 2020 9:58 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 2:31 am
Posts: 14
Whats the difference performance of A630 A650 A670 ?

as far as the spec sheet says its amount of raw capacity it can support and
different CPU.. but do we have the actual breakdown ? for each of them ? in details


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Primera Controller Performance
PostPosted: Tue Jul 07, 2020 11:07 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 05, 2013 1:50 pm
Posts: 4
It really depends on how they're configured and what workload you put on them - small block random workloads will show a big performance difference (50% in some cases) while large sequential workloads will show a smaller difference. It's hard to give an answer without detail though.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Primera Controller Performance
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2020 7:14 am 

Joined: Thu Feb 04, 2016 4:12 pm
Posts: 28
i sat in a roadmap a while ago for primera, that plus some tidbits on the net:
https://blocksandfiles.com/2019/06/20/hpe-primera-hardware-configurations/

i would say the big jump is from the 630->650.
630 has one asic, vs 650-670 have 4 asics per node. their is a sizer tool vars/HPE have that show this difference in performance.
i personally fought pricing for a 2 node 650's over the 630. i did not see the value of a A630, the lack of spinning FC at the moment puts the A630 in an extremely narrow use case.

the size limits seem a bit odd per model. they also hint at the limit of iops per model, where adding more ssd's will not add performance, just capacity (node bound/node locked). so at some point its worth jumping to the next model. if you look at their pricing, the nodes and cages are an inconsequential price compared to the price of each SSD. they seem to have skewed their SKU's :P

depending on # of SSD's you want from the A models (independent of the SSD density/size), it would move you up the model line to get performance out of the node models and their configured SSD's.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt