HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Best Practices - Primera - VMWARE
PostPosted: Mon Apr 06, 2020 4:14 pm 

Joined: Fri Feb 21, 2020 1:08 pm
Posts: 4
Ok, so I'm expecting my Primera arrays to show up by 4/25.. Then either by myself or with a hpe/vendor get them installed (Corona virus abound, my arrays are getting close to 90%.. I may not have a lot of choice about timing here) And I've found a few videos online about installing the array, and the android app...

So I currently have my vmware setup for 3par 7400 and had followed best practices for them..
What are the best practices for Primera?
In the past I had kept to 4-15 vm's per lun.. Sometimes 1 or 2 depending on the IO request size etc as well as the virtual machine size..
So the question is how big is a good size for a vvol?
In the past Most of my luns were around 4tb.. except three luns where they just needed more then 8tb or more.. (what's the current vvol size limit?)
Since most of my vm's are not huge I/O hogs.. I could probably fit 15+ on a lun but then I'd need to go to 8tb or larger.

Are vvols fully supported? (ie remote copy, metro storage cluster etc? or keep going with the plan I have which is to stick with vvols?)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Best Practices - Primera - VMWARE
PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2020 6:52 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2013 3:22 pm
Posts: 253
Primera VMware implementation Guide here:

https://support.hpe.com/hpesc/public/docDisplay?docLocale=en_US&docId=emr_na-a00088903en_us

16TiB is the max volume size for Data Reduction volumes today, 64TiB for Thin volumes.

No VMware vvol support in the current shipping release.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Best Practices - Primera - VMWARE
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2020 2:12 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2016 11:20 am
Posts: 15
SATP claimrules etc will all apply to Primera as it's really just a 3PAR to VMWare. I'm still waiting on an answer though as the official BPG for Primera has a different threshold for disk.qfullsamplesize than 3PAR does.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt