HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: De-dupe + compress all volumes .. practical ?
PostPosted: Tue Jan 17, 2023 5:40 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 9:32 pm
Posts: 134
Hiya,

We have some shiney new Primera 650s, which HPE have assured us can actually do de-dupe and compression without crashing :-)

How practical is it to just have all volumes as de-duplicated+compressed and just let the array handle it ? Will I see CPU issues ?
- volumes with known data sets unsuitable to compression would just be done thin though.

Data is mostly VMware with some older big Oracle on HP-UX (VxFS), array being migrated from has about 1PiB of data on it, all thin provisioned (because of crashes etc), has about 204 3.8TiB SSDs.
New Primera is all 7TiB SSD and NvME disks (96 of them), sales say the compaction of the new array will make up the space.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: De-dupe + compress all volumes .. practical ?
PostPosted: Wed Jan 18, 2023 2:24 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1469
Location: Europe
markinnz wrote:
Hiya,

We have some shiney new Primera 650s, which HPE have assured us can actually do de-dupe and compression without crashing :-)

How practical is it to just have all volumes as de-duplicated+compressed and just let the array handle it ? Will I see CPU issues ?
- volumes with known data sets unsuitable to compression would just be done thin though.

Data is mostly VMware with some older big Oracle on HP-UX (VxFS), array being migrated from has about 1PiB of data on it, all thin provisioned (because of crashes etc), has about 204 3.8TiB SSDs.
New Primera is all 7TiB SSD and NvME disks (96 of them), sales say the compaction of the new array will make up the space.

Thanks!


I would say, try.

If the volume compaction is less than 1.2:1, I probably wouldn't do the data reduction. If you see CPU issues, is dependent of the load. For anything compressed, the CPU would need to uncompress at read and compress at write. But the 650 is a pretty powerful system.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: De-dupe + compress all volumes .. practical ?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2023 11:59 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:34 am
Posts: 214
Location: Germany
Primera do it in a different Way as 3PAR.
First it try to Dedup, because it is fast and done by the ASIC.
It the result is good, processed Data go to the Disk.
If it is not good, it goes to the Compess Engine, this is done by CPU (Software).
In almost you will either have good Dedup or good Compession.
Compession is good for Database all other Data is (mostly) better for Dedup.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: De-dupe + compress all volumes .. practical ?
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2023 2:06 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1469
Location: Europe
cali wrote:
Primera do it in a different Way as 3PAR.
First it try to Dedup, because it is fast and done by the ASIC.
It the result is good, processed Data go to the Disk.
If it is not good, it goes to the Compess Engine, this is done by CPU (Software).
In almost you will either have good Dedup or good Compession.
Compession is good for Database all other Data is (mostly) better for Dedup.


Pretty sure that works in the exact same way as 3PAR :) .... expect Primera has better control over background processes, more processes are multi-threaded and has a lot more horsepower :D

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: De-dupe + compress all volumes .. practical ?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 01, 2023 6:18 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 2:01 am
Posts: 387
I think you are right, MammaGutt.
On 3PAR data is deduped then compressed and added to other compressed data until it fit 16k and then written to disk.
But that works only if the VV has dedup and compression enabled.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt