HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: 2x 3Par7400 3.1.3MU1 Remote Copy Group Switchover issue
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 7:14 am 

Hi,

I'm new to all 3PAR concepts (though I have been running series of Enterprise Virtual Arrays and used to zoning configurations in SAN switcher)

We are building an new Prove of Concept site on 2x 3PAR 7400 arrays (updated to 3.1.3MU1 today) and 4x VMware vSphere v5.1 nodes in an MetroCluster config stretched between two datacenters.

Setting upp VVs included in an Remote Gopy Group, following best practice for zoning and paths, everything seems OK from the beginning.

Looking at the datastore in VMware I have half the paths Active/Active to the Primary Volume and the other half of paths as Standby to the Secondary Volume.

Now things getting weird, as I run "setrcopygroup switchver [groupname]" Secondary volume gets promoted to Primary, Ex-Primary will be demoted to Seconday. Still all looks good in IMC.

But verifying my four VMware hosts, Datastores are gone on all four!
Eventually they appears again but with Active path to the Ex-Primary volumes and then disappears again.

If I unexport the Ex-Primary volume (Secondary volume) all paths fails over to the resent promoted Volume and all datastores will mount properly again. (at least the Zoning config could be ruled out now from further troubleshootning)

Are there anybody out here that have seen identical things happening before?

Kind Regards,
Peter

Post subject: Re: 2x 3Par7400 3.1.3MU1 Remote Copy Group Switchover issue
PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 11:45 am 

Looks like the path management policy is default OFF when creating new RCG's in 3.1.3.
My understanding is that it was default ON in 3.1.2.

# setrcopygroup pol [path_management | no_path_management] <group>

I wonder if this will applies on Windows Server 2012 R2 to?
Would be nice to stretch such cluster as well

//Peter

PostPosted: Mon Jun 16, 2014 12:03 pm