HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: New to 3Par
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 8:38 am 

Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2022 8:12 am
Posts: 1
Good morning, I just started a new job, and we have some sore spots about backups/retention (what was told we had... well, we don't).

In my search for additional unused hardware to allow longer retention, I came up on two 3PAR trays:

https://imgur.com/kkEg9bY

Full of hard drives, and some cables (Ethernet, a SAS breakout cable (1 SAS to 4 SAS), and some fiber cables. Now onto my question:

1. Can these trays be used like pure storage? (I don't need speed, just large storage) I have an old HP ProLiant server that has a 2-port SAS controller that may work for this.

2. How to wire this!? I did look @ the HPE documentation (https://support.hpe.com/hpesc/public/do ... 582#N10041) and I see no cable that can go where those "intr" ports show.

Thank you kindly for your assistance!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to 3Par
PostPosted: Wed Jul 20, 2022 1:10 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1414
Location: Europe
Xodi wrote:
Good morning, I just started a new job, and we have some sore spots about backups/retention (what was told we had... well, we don't).

In my search for additional unused hardware to allow longer retention, I came up on two 3PAR trays:

https://imgur.com/kkEg9bY

Full of hard drives, and some cables (Ethernet, a SAS breakout cable (1 SAS to 4 SAS), and some fiber cables. Now onto my question:

1. Can these trays be used like pure storage? (I don't need speed, just large storage) I have an old HP ProLiant server that has a 2-port SAS controller that may work for this.

2. How to wire this!? I did look @ the HPE documentation (https://support.hpe.com/hpesc/public/do ... 582#N10041) and I see no cable that can go where those "intr" ports show.

Thank you kindly for your assistance!


1. These are complete storage arrays, not disk shelves. SAS controllers will do you no good. The systems you have are configured to FC (Fibre Channel) only.

2. You need to connect these to a Fibre Channel Fabric and present volumes to hosts connected to that FC fabric, or you can direct attach these to servers with (supported) FC HBAs and present volumes directly that way.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: New to 3Par
PostPosted: Thu Jul 21, 2022 11:14 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1319
Location: Dallas, Texas
Adding to what Mammagut said, those are the head units... which are the controllers for an intelligent array (3PAR). The drives you see on the front are internally connected through the backplane to the controllers. The SAS ports you see are for adding additional expansion drive shelves, and do not provide connection to the drives inside this head unit's chassis.

That said, if you can find an old server with FC ports, you can direct connect to build a spicy hot long term retention array.

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 49 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt