HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 7400 Spare Parts
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2021 5:31 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:58 am
Posts: 30
Location: Claremore, OK
So I have two 7400's going Eos next year and I've spent most of my time emptying them as we speak onto their replacements. With that said, we're wanting to turn one into a lab and use the second as spare parts for the first.

Both units are 7400's with roughly 216 disks each. Bit large for a lab, but I'd be afraid to downsize without a factory reset. With that in mind, I'm guessing I need to factory reset the unit I'm pulling out to use for spare parts. Any suggestions on how to do this would be great. The main thing is to keep it from rejecting disks removed from the other system. I assume nodes can be replaced like former nodes (SSD swap).

Second question is if I'll have any issues leaving one turned off for an extended length of time, or should I power it back on and just leave it running with no data being moved? I know we're not talking tubes, but spinning things tend to not like spinning after sitting for a long time.

Thanks

_________________
vSphere | Windows | Linux
2x 3Par 7400 | Brocade SAN


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 7400 Spare Parts
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 11:47 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1322
Location: Europe
Namlehse wrote:
So I have two 7400's going Eos next year and I've spent most of my time emptying them as we speak onto their replacements. With that said, we're wanting to turn one into a lab and use the second as spare parts for the first.

Both units are 7400's with roughly 216 disks each. Bit large for a lab, but I'd be afraid to downsize without a factory reset. With that in mind, I'm guessing I need to factory reset the unit I'm pulling out to use for spare parts. Any suggestions on how to do this would be great. The main thing is to keep it from rejecting disks removed from the other system. I assume nodes can be replaced like former nodes (SSD swap).

Second question is if I'll have any issues leaving one turned off for an extended length of time, or should I power it back on and just leave it running with no data being moved? I know we're not talking tubes, but spinning things tend to not like spinning after sitting for a long time.

Thanks

Best way is to connect to the serial port and logon with console user and run back in the box. If you are running a fairly new 3PAR OS you need to get the password for console generated by HPE support.

I wouldn't be worried about leaving things off for a long time, but I'm always worried about removing power fron anything running for a long time.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt