HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:04 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:34 am
Posts: 10
Hi guys,

just a short question about 3PAR OS Upgrades.
Is it still the fact, that updates should be performed by HPE only?

BR


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2021 4:57 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1322
Location: Europe
Depending on the model.

10k and anything older requires a user thar only HPE or some resellers have access to.

20k can be patched but not upgraded once on 3.3.1/SP5.

Anything else the user has access to upgrade themselves... Last I heard was the HPE no longer does the upgrades for free, but I guess that doesn't apply for 20k.


So to answer your question, _should_ 3PAR updates/upgrades only be performed by HPE? I would say that it depends on the user. Some are comfortable doing patching and upgrades on a system that is often a single point of failure for the entire company infrastructure, others are not.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2021 6:07 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:34 am
Posts: 10
Hello MammaGutt,

many thanks for your reply!

One additional question:
"10k and anything older requires a user thar only HPE or some resellers have access to."
Does this include a StoreServ 8200?

My question is about a 8200, but I did forget to mention this.


BR


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2021 6:15 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1322
Location: Europe
crazy69 wrote:
Hello MammaGutt,
My question is about a 8200, but I did forget to mention this.


BR


Yes, you forgot to mention that.

10k and anything older means: S-class, E-class, T-class, F-class and V-class (that became the 10k).

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2021 6:36 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:34 am
Posts: 10
So...I am a little bit confused, sorry.

How is it for the 8200?

BR


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Jul 13, 2021 9:23 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1322
Location: Europe
crazy69 wrote:
So...I am a little bit confused, sorry.

How is it for the 8200?

BR


Nothing prevents you from doing it. HPE will probably require you to pay them to do it for you.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Jul 15, 2021 10:43 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 384
Yeah I've just had this pointed out to me by support. :o

Seems you need at least 10 Service Credits to get them to upgrade an array.
Possible discounts for addition arrays or additional credits for out of hours.

I think I missed the memo on this. :roll:

Luckily only got one array not at 3.3.1MU5 and have been doing the basic patch installs on some other ones for a while so am okay with that. Just working on a plan to get the last one updated from 3.2.2EMU4, appears to be not too many steps from the vague details I can find. :?

Have mentioned to our Proactive support TAM that I'm not too pleased, seeing as it was one of the few support things we used. Maybe they'll refund some support costs as service credits. :roll:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2021 2:10 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1301
Location: Dallas, Texas
Also note, that if you need to do a hardware upgrade, like add 2 drives, or HBAs, that an OS/MU upgrade is included in the hardware installation service.

https://www.hpe.com/psnow/doc/4AA5-8035ENW.pdf

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Tue Aug 10, 2021 5:23 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2014 11:58 am
Posts: 30
Location: Claremore, OK
The last time I had HPE upgrade our four arrays, they crashed three of them. I haven't been keen on repeating that.

_________________
vSphere | Windows | Linux
2x 3Par 7400 | Brocade SAN


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR Upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 11:42 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1322
Location: Europe
Namlehse wrote:
The last time I had HPE upgrade our four arrays, they crashed three of them. I haven't been keen on repeating that.


That sounds extreme. To what versions were you upgrading?

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 24 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt