HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Sat Jul 10, 2021 5:21 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
bay 4 1 & 3 ?


Attachments:
server conn fabric.png
server conn fabric.png [ 15.49 KiB | Viewed 2610 times ]
external san fabric.png
external san fabric.png [ 16.84 KiB | Viewed 2610 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2021 1:22 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1322
Location: Europe
Yes. Leaving only the ports connected to 10:00:00......

Another question, who you know why your SAN fabrics are degraded?

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Sun Jul 11, 2021 9:54 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
hmm I think you meant leave the 20's ? that would be the cisco switches.

the 10's I believe are the brocade switch
as far as degradation:

2021-07-10T12:41:11-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [FC:enc0:iobay3:4010:Info] FC Module state OK : Component fully operational, Previous: FC Module state NO_COMM
2021-07-10T12:41:11-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [FAB:FACSA:8013:Minor] FC Fabric state DEGRADED : Fabric [FACSA] uplink ports have different SAN Fabric WWNs, Previous: FC Fabric state UNKNOWN
2021-07-10T12:41:16-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [FC:enc0:iobay3:4032:Info] FC Module SNMP configuration changed
2021-07-10T12:42:26-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [FC:enc0:iobay4:4010:Info] FC Module state OK : Component fully operational, Previous: FC Module state NO_COMM
2021-07-10T12:42:26-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [FAB:FACSB:8013:Minor] FC Fabric state DEGRADED : Fabric [FACSB] uplink ports have different SAN Fabric WWNs, Previous: FC Fabric state UNKNOWN
2021-07-10T12:42:26-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [ENC:enc0:2010:Info] Enclosure state OK : All modules & servers OK, Previous: Enclosure state DEGRADED
2021-07-10T12:42:31-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [FC:enc0:iobay4:4032:Info] FC Module SNMP configuration changed
2021-07-10T18:23:21-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [VCD:FACS:1034:Info] User Operation : Add or set FC Fabric Configuration (Administrator@10.128.52.10)
2021-07-10T18:23:28-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [FAB:FACSB:8003:Info] FC Fabric changed
2021-07-10T18:25:04-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [VCD:FACS:1004:Info] VCM Domain checkpointed
2021-07-10T18:25:28-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [SVR:enc0:dev1:5005:Warning] Server power off
2021-07-10T18:25:39-04:00 VCETW27510195 vcmd: [SVR:enc0:dev1:5004:Info] Server power on


thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2021 10:57 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
ok I've put back everything to the original cable config and the VCM's are no longer degraded.

I have also added another connection from the 8640 and now have 4 paths. this is complete since it's retiring.

I do still have 3 yellow signs and only can find one where I don't have a 2nd network connection plugged in.


on the blades ILO I am still unable to see the drives I have presented to it.

Shell> reconnect -r
HP Smart Array P410i Controller (version 6.42)
1785-Drive Array Not Configured
No Drives Detected


Currently the controller is in HBA mode
HP PCIe 2Port 8Gb Fibre Channel Adapter (driver 2.27, firmware 5.06.006)
HP PCIe 2Port 8Gb Fibre Channel Adapter (driver 2.27, firmware 5.06.006)
HP PCIe 2Port 8Gb Fibre Channel Adapter (driver 2.27, firmware 5.06.006)
HP PCIe 2Port 8Gb Fibre Channel Adapter (driver 2.27, firmware 5.06.006)
HP Smart Array P410i Controller (version 6.42)
1785-Drive Array Not Configured
No Drives Detected


Currently the controller is in HBA mode
HP PCIe 2Port 8Gb Fibre Channel Adapter (driver 2.27, firmware 5.06.006)
HP PCIe 2Port 8Gb Fibre Channel Adapter (driver 2.27, firmware 5.06.006)
HP PCIe 2Port 8Gb Fibre Channel Adapter (driver 2.27, firmware 5.06.006)
HP PCIe 2Port 8Gb Fibre Channel Adapter (driver 2.27, firmware 5.06.006)
ReconnectController(0,0,0) : Status = Success

Shell> map -r
map: Cannot find required map name.

Shell> map
map: Cannot find required map name.

Shell>


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2021 11:27 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1322
Location: Europe
Well. If nothing is degraded in VCM and you've ensure that only one SAN switch is connected to one VC SAN fabric you have all your physical stuff in place.

If the host is not online on the 3PAR, then this is a zoning issue on the SAN switches you're using or host issue for not loading the FC driver correctly. Check the name server on the SAN switch to verify that the host WWN is logged onto the fabric.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Last edited by MammaGutt on Mon Jul 12, 2021 2:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2021 11:39 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
here is one of the switches. I do not understand why it's show 2 port 1's

ports 1-4 are the VCM why is it picking the 20 addresses if I'm supposed to be using the 50?
or is the 50 only to be used on the 3Par?

show flog database
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
INTERFACE VSAN FCID PORT NAME NODE NAME
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
fc1/1 2 0x710500 20:11:00:11:0a:00:04:05 10:00:00:11:0a:00:04:05
fc1/1 2 0x710501 50:06:0b:00:00:c2:62:00 50:06:0b:00:00:c2:62:01
fc1/2 2 0x710800 20:14:00:11:0a:00:04:05 10:00:00:11:0a:00:04:05
fc1/3 2 0x710700 20:13:00:11:0a:00:04:05 10:00:00:11:0a:00:04:05
fc1/4 2 0x710600 20:12:00:11:0a:00:04:05 10:00:00:11:0a:00:04:05
fc1/5 2 0x710400 23:02:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1 2f:f7:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1
fc1/6 2 0x710300 22:01:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1 2f:f7:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1
fc1/7 2 0x710200 21:02:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1 2f:f7:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1
fc1/8 2 0x710100 20:01:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1 2f:f7:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1
fc1/11 2 0x710900 50:01:43:80:24:29:37:8a 50:01:43:80:24:29:37:8b
fc1/12 2 0x710000 50:01:43:80:01:69:74:84 50:01:43:80:01:69:74:85
sup-fc0 2 0x710a00 10:00:8c:60:4f:ef:a1:c1 20:00:8c:60:4f:ef:a1:c0


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2021 2:36 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
just plugged in the missing network cable and all the warnings went away. yeah!

on the phone with the OS software vendor looking for more help as to why nothing shows up in the ilo to boot from.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Mon Jul 12, 2021 3:44 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
found it!

under drvcfg on the blade you have to change it so that EFI does a FULL scan to see the 3Par drives!

I want to thank everyone for there help!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Sat Jul 17, 2021 1:11 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1301
Location: Dallas, Texas
Huge shout out to Mammagutt who has been a MVP on this board for quite some time!

Thank you for all you bring to this community!

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Mon Jul 19, 2021 12:13 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
I debated adding to this or creating a new post if I should do that please let me know.
it is a continuation.

I've attached a file that shows the connectivity between the 3Par and my Itaniums through the switches. as you can see everything not colored is plugged in but not seen be the 3Par.

any thoughts as to why or if there is further info needed please let me know.

the switches are Cisco 9148s

thanks


Attachments:
facs connectivity info.pdf [28 KiB]
Downloaded 156 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt