HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2021 10:10 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
Hi

I saw a couple of post with this issue, but did not see a resolution, if there is one please point me to that post. if not please respond below. I would have thought setting this up would have been easier than this.

1st. there are free ports on the 8440. I have it configured so 4 FC cables go to one switch and 4 go to another. seemed the best for redundancy and performance. (cisco) and just tried a Brocade. all 3 switches show up in map. not able to paste in screen shot.

2nd. I have a BL870 with the VC 8Gb module which is not showing connected but I tried to export drives to the blade and it says it's connected. sigh

thanks
Paul


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2021 1:40 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
I have found a 3rd issue in relation to the paths. I also have an rx8640 and a rx2660 attached to this.

the rx8640 has a dual port HBA which gives me 2 cables to the switch but yet the 3Par is only showing 3 paths not 4. as in the rx2660 has a single port card but yet has 2 paths on the 3Par.

both these systems are able to see the disks presented to them unlike the blade.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Thu Jul 08, 2021 6:04 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
1. Not sure what the problem is here.
2. Where, what, how? What is showing connected and what's not. Verify you have the correct profile in VC and correct zoning on SAN switches.
3. Sounds like a zoning issue.

Showhost -d in CLI will provide a view on which WWNs are configured to which hosts and visible over which ports.

Showport dev ns n:s:p shows which WWNs are seen on a port.


nsshow on Brocade will show all WWNs visible on the SAN switch.

Those commands should help you pin point where your trouble is.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 8:12 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
1. Not sure what the problem is here. ok
2. Where, what, how? What is showing connected and what's not. Verify you have the correct profile in VC and correct zoning on SAN switches. on the 3Par I can export to the blade, but the blade isn't seeing them. and there is no mapping shown, now it could be just what the 3Par is seeing and not actually connected.

3. Sounds like a zoning issue. with only 2 cables shouldn't I have 4 paths not 3?


I'm thinking you want these all done on the Brocade?
I'll post what I find out.

thanks

Showhost -d in CLI will provide a view on which WWNs are configured to which hosts and visible over which ports.

Showport dev ns n:s:p shows which WWNs are seen on a port.


nsshow on Brocade will show all WWNs visible on the SAN switch.

Those commands should help you pin point where your trouble is.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 8:41 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
ok I ran this on the Brocade and it's seeing the 3Par but not the blade/VCM

and I tried the other commands on the OA, VCM, and Cisco with no luck.
where do these get run?

NHSANSW4:admin> nsshow
{
Type Pid COS PortName NodeName TTL(sec)
N 660000; 3;20:12:00:11:0a:00:4a:6f;10:00:00:11:0a:00:4a:6f; na
Fabric Port Name: 20:00:00:27:f8:3b:6b:27
Permanent Port Name: 20:12:00:11:0a:00:4a:6f
Port Index: 0
Share Area: No
Device Shared in Other AD: No
Redirect: No
Partial: No
N 660100; 3;21:02:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1;2f:f7:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1; na
FC4s: FCP
PortSymb: [29] "MXN6162HFR - 1:0:2 - LPE16002"
NodeSymb: [36] "HPE_3PAR 8440 - MXN6162HFR - fw:3315"
Fabric Port Name: 20:01:00:27:f8:3b:6b:27
Permanent Port Name: 21:02:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1
Port Index: 1
Share Area: No
Device Shared in Other AD: No
Redirect: No
Partial: No
N 660300; 3;20:14:00:11:0a:00:04:05;10:00:00:11:0a:00:04:05; na
Fabric Port Name: 20:03:00:27:f8:3b:6b:27
Permanent Port Name: 20:14:00:11:0a:00:04:05
Port Index: 3
Share Area: No
Device Shared in Other AD: No
Redirect: No
Partial: No
N 660400; 3;20:12:00:11:0a:00:04:05;10:00:00:11:0a:00:04:05; na
Fabric Port Name: 20:04:00:27:f8:3b:6b:27
Permanent Port Name: 20:12:00:11:0a:00:04:05
Port Index: 4
Share Area: No
Device Shared in Other AD: No
Redirect: No
Partial: No
N 660500; 3;22:02:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1;2f:f7:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1; na
FC4s: FCP
PortSymb: [29] "MXN6162HFR - 2:0:2 - LPE16002"
NodeSymb: [36] "HPE_3PAR 8440 - MXN6162HFR - fw:3315"
Fabric Port Name: 20:05:00:27:f8:3b:6b:27
Permanent Port Name: 22:02:00:02:ac:01:a6:e1
Port Index: 5
Share Area: No
Device Shared in Other AD: No
Redirect: No
Partial: No
The Local Name Server has 5 entries }


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 10:21 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
Well, nsshow clearly shows 3PAR + 3 other devices. 3PAR ports (1:0:2 and 2:0:2) is connect here.

What is the WWN of your host(s)?


nsshow is Brocade only. Not sure what the similar Cisco command is.. maybe "show ns" or "show fc ns" or something like that.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 10:22 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
Maybe you could add a diagram of your fabric? That could make things more clear.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 10:37 am 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
yes and those ports on the 3par show free, not host.
no idea what the Cisco equivalent is.

as mentioned
rx8640 has 2 cables and 3 paths
rx2660 has 1 cable and 2 paths
BL870c has 8 cables and 0 paths

HTH and it removed all the spaces also added to attachments
rx8640 - 1 cable to each cisco
************************** cisco switch 1 - 3 fc cables
rx2660 - 1 cable to sw1 ******* cisco switch 2 - 3 fc cables ******** 3par
*************************** brocade switch - 2 fc cables
BL870c - 3 cables to sw1 & sw2
2 cables to brocade


Attachments:
3Par_topology.png
3Par_topology.png [ 35.84 KiB | Viewed 3210 times ]
3par_ports.pdf [112.22 KiB]
Downloaded 180 times
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 12:10 pm 

Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2021 10:03 am
Posts: 25
I was told by the OS vendor that the switch and system is good and there is a configuration issue on the 3Par. if that helps


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: a couple of issues with 8440
PostPosted: Fri Jul 09, 2021 12:52 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
So. Based on the drawing, your cabling is about a light year away from anything best practice.

Also, that shows 3PAR and SAN switch, which is good... But what about the hosts? Which hosts on which ports on which switches? And what switches are which vendor?

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 37 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cali, Google [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt