HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2021 8:20 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2021 3:12 am
Posts: 5
hello 3par gurus

first id like to thank you for this amazing group - just spend a week to recover a failed node with the help of all the existing posts here and i really appreciate it - couldnt have done it without u

now i purchased a refurbished HP disk to replace a failed Hitachi disk in cage 0

showpd -i shows following:

Id CagePos State ----Node_WWN---- --MFR-- -----Model------ -Serial- -FW_Rev- Protocol MediaType
--- 0:10:0 failed 5000C500479429AC HP EG0900FBLSK 6XS1P7RQ HPD8 SAS --
10 0:10:0? failed 5000CCA043CBD51B HITACHI HCBRE0900GBAS10K KVKM33RF 3P00 SAS -

servicemag operations dont work because of firmware - then i tried to upgrade as below but fail again.

upgradepd -f -w 5000C500479429AC
Upgrading pd with wwn 5000C500479429AC
Failed --There is no current firmware listed for PD 5000C500479429AC

there is no support contract with HP and i really dont feel confident enough to proceed with a firmware upgrade (currently have 3.1.2 (MU3) just to get one disk working

what are my options here? how can i bring the disk to life and become part of the array without having to walk the long road?

any advise would be much appreciated

best regards

Andy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Fri Jun 18, 2021 8:53 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
Not a 3PAR disk, so this will never work.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Mon Jun 21, 2021 11:59 pm 

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2021 3:12 am
Posts: 5
MammaGutt wrote:
Not a 3PAR disk, so this will never work.


how is this possible

the description on ebay was "HP M6710 3 PAR 697389 702505-001 900GB 6G SAS
10K SFF 2.5 WITH TRAY" - this looks like a 3par disk to me

please advice

A.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 3:00 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
p3kk3r wrote:
MammaGutt wrote:
Not a 3PAR disk, so this will never work.


how is this possible

the description on ebay was "HP M6710 3 PAR 697389 702505-001 900GB 6G SAS
10K SFF 2.5 WITH TRAY" - this looks like a 3par disk to me

please advice

A.


1. A 3PAR disk will _always_ have a 3PAR firmware which is always 3Pxx. Your drive has a HP firmware (HPxx) which usually means for Proliant or MSA.
2. A 3PAR disk will _always_ show OEM vendor and model number. It will never show HP as vendor as HP doesn't make HDDs.
3. 702505-001 is a 3PAR spare part number. EG0900FBLSK was never used in that spare part, most likely only for Proliants/MSAs.

Proliant and MSA drives are formatted with 512byte sectors. 3PAR use 520byte sectors to allow for T10 Diff checksum. My guess is that someone got a hold of a 3PAR drive carrier with a failed 900GB 10k 6G SAS and just put another HP 900GB 10k 6G SAS drive into it and assumed it would work.... So your ebay seller is either lacking knowledge, trying to con you or mixed up their spare HDDs and put the wrong one into the drive carrier sold to you.

Btw, with 3.1.2 MU3, you have a pretty limited option on 900GB drives... On the other hand, 900GB drives have been gone from the market for a very long time. Whenever I've had 900GB drives fail the last 4 years I've always gotten a 1.2TB as a replacement.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 4:21 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2021 3:12 am
Posts: 5
MammaGutt wrote:
p3kk3r wrote:
MammaGutt wrote:
Not a 3PAR disk, so this will never work.


how is this possible

the description on ebay was "HP M6710 3 PAR 697389 702505-001 900GB 6G SAS
10K SFF 2.5 WITH TRAY" - this looks like a 3par disk to me

please advice

A.


1. A 3PAR disk will _always_ have a 3PAR firmware which is always 3Pxx. Your drive has a HP firmware (HPxx) which usually means for Proliant or MSA.
2. A 3PAR disk will _always_ show OEM vendor and model number. It will never show HP as vendor as HP doesn't make HDDs.
3. 702505-001 is a 3PAR spare part number. EG0900FBLSK was never used in that spare part, most likely only for Proliants/MSAs.

Proliant and MSA drives are formatted with 512byte sectors. 3PAR use 520byte sectors to allow for T10 Diff checksum. My guess is that someone got a hold of a 3PAR drive carrier with a failed 900GB 10k 6G SAS and just put another HP 900GB 10k 6G SAS drive into it and assumed it would work.... So your ebay seller is either lacking knowledge, trying to con you or mixed up their spare HDDs and put the wrong one into the drive carrier sold to you.

Btw, with 3.1.2 MU3, you have a pretty limited option on 900GB drives... On the other hand, 900GB drives have been gone from the market for a very long time. Whenever I've had 900GB drives fail the last 4 years I've always gotten a 1.2TB as a replacement.



many thanks for your deep insight on the subject - so replacing a 900GB drive with a 1.2TB will still be ok right ? for example this HCEP1200S5xnN010

thank you again i appreciate your time

Andreas


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 6:22 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
Yes, as long as that disk model is in your FW DB (showfirmwaredb) . But you will likely be unable to write more data to the array when you've used 900 of those 1200GB.. so the total amount of data you can write to the array will not increase while the RAW capacity increases by 300GB.

So your array will probably be full at 99.9% rather than 100%.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 7:57 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2021 3:12 am
Posts: 5
MammaGutt wrote:
Yes, as long as that disk model is in your FW DB (showfirmwaredb) . But you will likely be unable to write more data to the array when you've used 900 of those 1200GB.. so the total amount of data you can write to the array will not increase while the RAW capacity increases by 300GB.

So your array will probably be full at 99.9% rather than 100%.


This is pure gold sir - thank you

one last question - if i replace a failed FC disk with a nearline disk same size (or bigger) will the 3par reject it?

A.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Tue Jun 22, 2021 8:53 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
p3kk3r wrote:
MammaGutt wrote:
Yes, as long as that disk model is in your FW DB (showfirmwaredb) . But you will likely be unable to write more data to the array when you've used 900 of those 1200GB.. so the total amount of data you can write to the array will not increase while the RAW capacity increases by 300GB.

So your array will probably be full at 99.9% rather than 100%.


This is pure gold sir - thank you

one last question - if i replace a failed FC disk with a nearline disk same size (or bigger) will the 3par reject it?

A.


Pretty sure servicemag will fail.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Thu Aug 05, 2021 4:22 am 

Joined: Wed Jun 16, 2021 3:12 am
Posts: 5
Hello Sir

we now have 2x FAILED FC disks and we just received the correct replacement disks (FW 3P00)

--Size(MB)-- ----Ports----
Id CagePos Type RPM State Total Free A B Cap(GB)
0 0:0:0? FC 10 failed 838656 0 ----- ----- 900
10 0:10:0? FC 10 failed 838656 0 ----- ----- 0

the correct way to proceed now is replace both disks at once and run servicemag?
or 1 disk first , servicemag, and then second disk after it finishes?

thank you in advance

Andreas


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Got Refurbished disk - Failed --no current firmware
PostPosted: Thu Aug 12, 2021 11:40 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1321
Location: Europe
You can do both at once, but think you need to start them manually when you have two failed drives.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt