HPE Storage Users Group
https://3parug.com/

3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN
https://3parug.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=3544
Page 1 of 1

Author:  hwelvaar [ Thu Feb 18, 2021 8:19 pm ]
Post subject:  3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN

Hi,

I'm setting up flat-SAN connectivity (no SAN switches involved) between a 3PAR 8440 and dual Synergy 12000. Each Synergy 12000 frame has 4 FC uplinks, each to one FC port of my 4-node 3PAR. The other Synergy has also 4 FC uplinks, each to the other FC port of each controller node.

From my Synergy systems, I can see the WWN's of my 3PAR.
But when I define hosts in 3PAR SSMC (with their correct WWN name), no connectivity shows up.

I'm not sure my 3PAR FC hosts ports are configured correctly.

First question: am I right in thinking that flat-SAN connectivity requires no special configuration or settings at the 3PAR side? (it does at the Synergy side, where you have to select direct-attached instead of fabric-attached).

Second question: please have a look at the screenshots, and tell me if my 3PAR FC ports are correctly configured. I find it strange they show as "free."

Any help greatly appreciated, thanks !

Attachments:
3par ports 2.png
3par ports 2.png [ 49.72 KiB | Viewed 189 times ]
3PAR - host paths.png
3PAR - host paths.png [ 37.39 KiB | Viewed 189 times ]
3PAR - host settings.png
3PAR - host settings.png [ 35.38 KiB | Viewed 189 times ]

Author:  MammaGutt [ Thu Feb 18, 2021 9:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: 3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN

On the 3PAR, the ports show as "free" until a host is detected.

Did you try and boot a server and install the FC HBA drivers?

I'm assuming you have the Flexfabric module in the synergy with FC license installed.

Author:  apol [ Fri Feb 19, 2021 1:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN

In SSMC, you can choose between two connection modes for host ports: "point" (fabric connection with switches) and "loop" (fc arbitrated loop). I think you have to select "loop" for SAN-less usage.

Author:  hwelvaar [ Fri Feb 19, 2021 5:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN

MammaGutt wrote:
On the 3PAR, the ports show as "free" until a host is detected.
Did you try and boot a server and install the FC HBA drivers?
I'm assuming you have the Flexfabric module in the synergy with FC license installed.


Servers don't have local storage, they need to boot from SAN.
Yes, VC SE 100 module is installed in Synergy, and also the FC license. The blades have 25/50 CNA adapters.

Judging from screenshot, the VC can see the WWN of the 3PAR.

Attachments:
interconnect.png
interconnect.png [ 54.5 KiB | Viewed 170 times ]

Author:  hwelvaar [ Fri Feb 19, 2021 5:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN

apol wrote:
In SSMC, you can choose between two connection modes for host ports: "point" (fabric connection with switches) and "loop" (fc arbitrated loop). I think you have to select "loop" for SAN-less usage.


Can anyone else confirm the above?

BTW I tried this but then the port goes offline, and stays that way. When trying to force it online, it stays offline.

Author:  MammaGutt [ Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:00 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN

hwelvaar wrote:
apol wrote:
In SSMC, you can choose between two connection modes for host ports: "point" (fabric connection with switches) and "loop" (fc arbitrated loop). I think you have to select "loop" for SAN-less usage.


Can anyone else confirm the above?

BTW I tried this but then the port goes offline, and stays that way. When trying to force it online, it stays offline.


My understanding is that this is correct for 7k systems and not 8k systems.

Author:  apol [ Mon Feb 22, 2021 12:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN

I'm not 100% sure that loop thing is correct (I think it is), but you probably have to set the host-port to loop connection as well for the setup to work.

Author:  hwelvaar [ Tue Feb 23, 2021 9:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: 3PAR 8440 and Synergy flat SAN

I can confirm the FC ports on 3PAR 8X00 have to be in point mode for direct attach / flat SAN. (thus not loop mode)

It's working now.

PS: To solve my problem, I had to reverse the dual path 3PAR target WWN's at the Synergy side, these were wrongly configured for both FC uplink.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/