HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Remove vvol from exported vvset
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 11:11 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 10:52 am
Posts: 4
Hi folks,

I've inherited management of an old 7200 that I'm trying to tidy up so I can reallocate free space by deleting unused vvols. However, I've discovered that 3 of the vvols I need to delete are all in the same vvset and there's something stirring in my memory from the last course I did that vvsets can only be emptied from the most recently added vvol backwards?

The system is running 3.2.2.709 MU6+P96,P99.

If I can't delete then it's not really an issue, hopefully the amount of free space in these vvols is enough to last until the system is retired next year. I'll just have to move some vmdk's around.

Cheers!

Witchy


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Remove vvol from exported vvset
PostPosted: Thu Dec 17, 2020 12:26 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: Europe
Just try and remove one from the VVset.

I can't remember such a limitation, but that doesn't mean it doesn't exist.

Just remember that removing a VV from a VVset will remove any exports to that VV done thru the VVset.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Remove vvol from exported vvset
PostPosted: Tue Dec 29, 2020 5:36 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 10:52 am
Posts: 4
Hi,

Sorry for the late reply - xmas break and all that!

OK I'll try and remove the smallest now unused VV. I think the VVset was only done this way to make whoever set this up's job easier so if I have to set up new exports afterwards to the VVs I free up that's not a problem.

Cheers, and have a good new year.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Remove vvol from exported vvset
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 10:30 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 10:52 am
Posts: 4
Hello all, happy new year.

I've remembered why I was nervous about deleting this VV that's in a volume set. When I go to delete I get a warning saying:

"The virtual volumes listed below will be deleted and all the data on the virtual volumes will be lost. The deletion will include:

Virtual volumes exported to a host (configure the host software to stop using the virtual volumes)
All snapshots and clones of the listed virtual volumes
Any listed virtual volumes that are part of a virtual volume set"

1 and 2 I'm fine with, 3 makes me go 'eek' even though there's only one VV listed underneath and that's the one I'm trying to delete. I think it's saying it'll be deleted even if it's part of a volume set, but bits of me are worried it will delete the whole VVset which is pretty much everything on the 3PAR. I think I'm going to have to set up my own test vvset just to see what happens.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Remove vvol from exported vvset
PostPosted: Tue Jan 05, 2021 11:49 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1191
Location: Europe
witchy wrote:
Hello all, happy new year.

I've remembered why I was nervous about deleting this VV that's in a volume set. When I go to delete I get a warning saying:

"The virtual volumes listed below will be deleted and all the data on the virtual volumes will be lost. The deletion will include:

Virtual volumes exported to a host (configure the host software to stop using the virtual volumes)
All snapshots and clones of the listed virtual volumes
Any listed virtual volumes that are part of a virtual volume set"

1 and 2 I'm fine with, 3 makes me go 'eek' even though there's only one VV listed underneath and that's the one I'm trying to delete. I think it's saying it'll be deleted even if it's part of a volume set, but bits of me are worried it will delete the whole VVset which is pretty much everything on the 3PAR. I think I'm going to have to set up my own test vvset just to see what happens.


Remove the VV from the set. Don't delete the set :).

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Remove vvol from exported vvset
PostPosted: Fri Jan 08, 2021 10:32 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2020 10:52 am
Posts: 4
Obviously yes :lol:

That warning worries me though, the vvset this vv is part of is the entire 3PAR so an accidental oops may cost me my job. You can see why I'm nervous.

W


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt