HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: SMMC time zone
PostPosted: Thu Oct 15, 2020 3:06 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:57 pm
Posts: 6
Hi all,

i would need help about a small issue, but that i could not fix it.

My time zone is CEST, and in the whole system is that, but in "volume Pairs" on Remote copy group i have HST, the linked volume is on DR but still in Europe with same time zone.

Could you help me to understand why?

Thanks in advance

L

Image


EDIT: Obviusly, in CLI the time zone work properly


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SMMC time zone
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 3:08 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1158
Location: Europe
What is the configured time zone of the 3PARs that are replicating? (showdate in CLI)

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SMMC time zone
PostPosted: Fri Oct 16, 2020 6:59 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:57 pm
Posts: 6
MammaGutt wrote:
What is the configured time zone of the 3PARs that are replicating? (showdate in CLI)


both

2020-10-16 14:00:54 CEST (Europe/Paris)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SMMC time zone
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 10:58 am 

Joined: Mon Oct 12, 2020 4:57 pm
Posts: 6
someone that have some ideas? :roll: :mrgreen:


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SMMC time zone
PostPosted: Mon Oct 19, 2020 12:05 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1158
Location: Europe
If both 3PARs show Europe/Paris, the only thing I can think of is the SSMC time configuration, but I assume that was the first thing that was checked.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: SMMC time zone
PostPosted: Tue Oct 27, 2020 11:13 pm 

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:34 am
Posts: 60
Had a similar thing..

But only found out we had when I tried to set an NTP server for our SSMC's.

There is a technical article somewhere on the web about this. (bit of a faff, and no settings are present in either the CLI or web GUI)

You need to edit a config file but should sort you out if all your systems are time synced...

From the SSMC Administration Guide:
Log in to the SSMC appliance as ssmcadmin launching the TUI automatically.
1. Add a valid FQDN, IPv4, or IPv6 address of NTP server for the ssmc.ntp.DnsOrIP property in the /ssmc/conf/security_config.properties file.
2. Escape to general bash shell by pressing X in the TUI.
3. To commit the configuration settings, execute the sudo /ssmc/bin/config_security.sh -o configure_ntp -a set command.
4. To restart the NTP service, on the prompt select yes.
5. Verify that the configuration is successful and the service is active and the receiving time synch feeds. Service start messages must appear in /var/log/appliance.log and /var/log/syslog. Execute the date command from shell to verify that the host time is synchronized with the NTP server time.



https://community.hpe.com/t5/hpe-3par-storeserv-storage/ssmc-timesync/td-p/7095391

:)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 39 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt