HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: adding ssd to 8200 - non OEM
PostPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:12 pm 

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:08 pm
Posts: 2
Sorry if my questions is dummy, I Inherited my 3par 8200 series, it has 12x480GB ssd, I was wondering if I want to add more SSD drive , can I go to 3.84SSD? can I just add 1 3.84SSD or do I need to go with 8 Disk min?
also has anyone tried to add non OEM SSD?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: adding ssd to 8200 - non OEM
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 2:29 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Europe
It depends on your config. You always need to add in pairs. If you do R5 3+1, then 4 should be okay.

Disks need to be one of the models which 3PAR OS supports and contains firmware to. SSD needs to be formatted using 520 bytes sector size.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: adding ssd to 8200 - non OEM
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 8:46 am 

Joined: Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:08 pm
Posts: 2
Thanks for your quick response . as I said I have 12x480GB ssd at this time and diffrent configuration( Raid 5 5+1 and and 8+1 ) , in this case if I add 4 disk I need to create a new CPG for Raid 5 , 3+1 and have at least 4 disk, right? do I need to assign CPG manually per disk then?
Also I was reading about license disk ,most of the document I read it mentioned I have to have license for disk , but as you see below for my showlicense output , I do not see anything about disk license , dose it mean I can add unlimited disk?
Thanks



3PAR01 cli% showlicense
License key was generated on Fri Feb 16 15:28:39 2018

System WWNBASE/W19 number is 0x19F1E.

License features currently enabled:
3PAR OS Suite
Adaptive Flash Cache
Adaptive Optimization
Autonomic Rebalance
Compression
Dynamic Optimization
File Persona (2147482624G)
Management Plug-In for VMware vCenter
Online Import
Priority Optimization
Recovery Manager Central
Recovery Manager for Exchange
Recovery Manager for Microsoft Hyper-V
Recovery Manager for Oracle
Recovery Manager for SQL
Recovery Manager for VMware vSphere
RMC Application Suite
Smart SAN
System Reporter
Thin Conversion
Thin Copy Reclamation
Thin Deduplication
Thin Persistence
Thin Provisioning (20480000G)
Virtual Copy
Virtual Domains
Virtual Lock
VSS Provider for Microsoft Windows

MammaGutt wrote:
It depends on your config. You always need to add in pairs. If you do R5 3+1, then 4 should be okay.

Disks need to be one of the models which 3PAR OS supports and contains firmware to. SSD needs to be formatted using 520 bytes sector size.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: adding ssd to 8200 - non OEM
PostPosted: Sun Jun 21, 2020 9:31 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1111
Location: Europe
Your system has the new license type that doesn't count drives.

If you add 4, you need R5 3+1 to be able to use all the capacity on the drives. Not sure how you have your existing CPGs but remember that unless you explicitly specify all SSD will be used in all CPGs meaning you'll probably get into trouble with your existing CPGs when the 480 drives are full.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 47 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt