3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Quorum witness questions
PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:18 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:07 am
Posts: 166
Guys,

I currently use 2 x Quorum witness which i have connected to 5 x pairs of 3pars. They used to have a limit of the amount of nodes you connect to one witness.

I've been looking at the thew newer v3 QW which is an rpm you put on a linux server, but does anyone know if there is a limit of how many nodes this version also connect too? I can't see anything like this in the user guide.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Quorum witness questions
PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 9:37 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 337
It would be in the SPOCK pages I suspect (if they have updated them), my presumption was that it hadn't changed but we've not got round to updating any yet (need to get some CentOS vms sorted for this and Nimble witness too).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Quorum witness questions
PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:29 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 931
Location: Europe
No changes with the new QW.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Quorum witness questions
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 3:29 am 

Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2014 9:07 am
Posts: 166
So currently i have a QW witness setup, i've made up the IP's below but currently i have setup where both primary and secondary arrays talk to the witness on 1 IP as in the green links. So they are connected to a stretched VLAN.

But networks want me to move off this stretched vlan. So does anyone know if the qw witness is allowed to have 2 nics one if both networks. is the red lines in the picture below. Am I allowed the qw to have IP's 10.0.10.26 & 10.50.10.26 to talk in each site to the 3par?

basic picture added


Attachments:
qw.png
qw.png [ 4 KiB | Viewed 271 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Quorum witness questions
PostPosted: Wed Sep 04, 2019 4:01 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 337
koopa79 wrote:
So currently i have a QW witness setup, i've made up the IP's below but currently i have setup where both primary and secondary arrays talk to the witness on 1 IP as in the green links. So they are connected to a stretched VLAN.

But networks want me to move off this stretched vlan. So does anyone know if the qw witness is allowed to have 2 nics one if both networks. is the red lines in the picture below. Am I allowed the qw to have IP's 10.0.10.26 & 10.50.10.26 to talk in each site to the 3par?

basic picture added

Not seen any docs mentioning that, could you route between the subnets? The witness and both arrays don't 'need' to be on the same vlan/subnet just so long as there's a route/acl to allow them to talk to each other (our arrays and witnesses are in 3 different vlans/subnets).


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 28 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt