3PAR Users Group
https://3parug.com/

Move cpg copy with remote copy group
https://3parug.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=3215
Page 1 of 2

Author:  pazzoide76 [ Thu Jun 13, 2019 1:45 am ]
Post subject:  Move cpg copy with remote copy group

Hello everyone,
I have a question.
Is it possible to change the cpg copy group in a virtual volume within a remote copy group?
I'll explain myself better.
Currently my virtual volumes, which are part of several remote copy groups, point to nl disks for copy cpg.
I bought fc discs and want to move the cpg copy group to these discs.
It's possible?

Thank you

Greetings

Author:  MammaGutt [ Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:13 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

Tune volume. No problem as long as you have Dynamic Optimization license (if your 3PAR is less than a couple of years it is a part of the all-inclusive license).

Author:  pazzoide76 [ Thu Jun 13, 2019 7:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

Thanks for your answer.
Unfortunately my 3par 7200 is from 2013 and does not have the Dynamic optimization license.
Is it possible to move the copy cpg the same?Maybe by stopping the remote copy group, changing the copy gpg and then restart the replication?
Or I have to remove the virtual volume from the remote copy group, modify the copy cpg and then put it back in the remote copy group. This procedure forces me to replicate again from scratch. Corrected?


Thank you

Greetings

Author:  MammaGutt [ Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

It depends....

Are you using any other snapshots?
Are you using sync or periodic replication?

Author:  pazzoide76 [ Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:23 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

Thanks for the reply

Are you using any other snapshots?
Only snapshots for replication
Are you using sync or periodic replication?
Yes, I'm using periodic async

Author:  MammaGutt [ Thu Jun 13, 2019 8:51 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

pazzoide76 wrote:
Thanks for the reply

Are you using any other snapshots?
Only snapshots for replication
Are you using sync or periodic replication?
Yes, I'm using periodic async


With periodic the correct way is to stop replication, remove the volume from the RC group, run freespace -f <vvname> in CLI, edit the copy space on the volume(s), reconfigure replication and resync the entire volume.


What might work is...
If you have a CPG used only for copy space, edit that CPG (you might need to use CLI) to use FC drives rather than NL drives and run tunesys to move the existing data.

What also possibly might work, but I'm very unsure is simply edit the volumes and change copy CPG and run a complete tunesys. I'm really unsure about this one as it might not fix anything.


With DO if would be three clicks ... Tune VV -> change copy CPG -> Tune.

Author:  pazzoide76 [ Fri Jun 28, 2019 9:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

Thanks MammaGutt for the answer.
I wanted to know if it was possible to use the freespace -f <vvname> command with the LUN in production. Should vv not be exported? Or can I do the procedure even if vv is exported and used by hosts esxi?
MammaGutt I'll ask you this question because looking on the internet I found the following:
To free unused snapshot administration and snapshot data space from a virtual volume that is notin use by the system, issue the freespace <VV_name> or freespace <pattern> command
taken from https://www.manualslib.com/manual/58079 ... ml?page=88

Thank you

Greetings

Author:  MammaGutt [ Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:15 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

Freespace only works when there is no snapshot. With async you always have at least one which why I asked about replication :)
If you had sync, it would have been the easy way out as sync only has snapshot when replication is stopped.

Author:  pazzoide76 [ Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:22 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

Thanks for the reply.
So what do I have to do to move the cpg copy to vv a remote copy group in periodic async mode?
If I remove the vv from the remote copy group the snapshot is automatically deleted?
Does the freespace command serve to redistribute the space that was previously occupied by the snapshot?

thank you

Greetings

Author:  MammaGutt [ Fri Jun 28, 2019 11:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Move cpg copy with remote copy group

Simply remove from remote copy group will remove snapshot and freespace could be used, but a full resync of the volume is required when adding it back to remote copy.

To move the existing snapshot from one CPG to another, you need the DO license.

If you have a dedicated CPG for copyspace which isn't used for anything else but snapshots, you could change the configuration for that CPG to point to FC and run tunesys.

Those are basically your only options.

Edit: you could also switch to sync replication with keepsnap option, do freespace and move back to async if you desperatly want to avoid resync, but that will come at the volumes needing to be sync for some time.

Page 1 of 2 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/