3PAR Users Group
https://3parug.com/

SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches
https://3parug.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=3127
Page 1 of 1

Author:  jbguy [ Wed Mar 13, 2019 9:24 am ]
Post subject:  SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

I have been trying to update one of my 3PARs and found an odd quirk. On all my other arrays I just go to SPOCC and hit updates then 3par updates. It lets me upload files and do the update. For some reason on this array I get the below screen (in attachment) when I click on 3par updates. This is normally the screen you get when doing an update. I dont know how to knock this back to normal. I have rebooted the SP but that didnt seem to work. The SP is 4.4.0 GA - 129 so fairly up to date.

Anyone seen this behavior before? I thought of restarting a service on the array but not sure how to do that or even which one would control that behavior.

Thanks for any insight.

Attachments:
2019-03-13_9-20-35.png
2019-03-13_9-20-35.png [ 24.5 KiB | Viewed 242 times ]

Author:  MammaGutt [ Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:40 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

Try removing the 3PAR from the SP and re-added it.

Author:  jbguy [ Wed Mar 13, 2019 10:47 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

Is that something that can be done live? Or does it need to be shut down?

Author:  MammaGutt [ Thu Mar 14, 2019 4:14 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

It is not disruptive and does not impact anything.

Author:  jbguy [ Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

Ok thanks. I will give it a whirl and see what I get.

Author:  jbguy [ Thu Mar 14, 2019 9:48 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

Just as a note I tried this and it worked!

Thanks MammaGutt!

Author:  sanjac [ Fri Mar 15, 2019 9:12 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

is there some file that tells me in what order to install patches (i know support usally does it but i love to do it myself)?? For examle infosight is telling me now that "System is missing conditional patch(es) P42,P39,P51,P37 for" i tried installing 42 ...got error. Installed 51 and then 37

Author:  MammaGutt [ Fri Mar 15, 2019 12:34 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

sanjac wrote:
is there some file that tells me in what order to install patches (i know support usally does it but i love to do it myself)?? For examle infosight is telling me now that "System is missing conditional patch(es) P42,P39,P51,P37 for" i tried installing 42 ...got error. Installed 51 and then 37


Release notes state requirements (required installed patches) for each patch.

I've not seen anything other than this.

Author:  jbguy [ Mon Mar 18, 2019 10:37 am ]
Post subject:  Re: SPOCC gives wrong page for OS Patches

sanjac wrote:
is there some file that tells me in what order to install patches (i know support usally does it but i love to do it myself)?? For examle infosight is telling me now that "System is missing conditional patch(es) P42,P39,P51,P37 for" i tried installing 42 ...got error. Installed 51 and then 37


Yeah I just try to do them in ascending order and make sure to check the notes for each to make sure that there are no prereqs that I dont already have installed. Most of the small patches usually dont need anything else. A lot of newer ones can supersede others as well.

Its just a lot of reading to make sure there isnt anything that will be a gotcha. :)

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/