3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Hpe 3par 8400 OS upgrade from 3.2.2mu6 to 3.3.1 mu3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:57 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:48 am
Posts: 4
Hello guys i have 3par 8400 and i want to upgrade OS my current os it's 3.2.2 mu6 without any patches and i have some questions
is it possible to upgrade from 3.2.2 mu6 directory to 3.3.1 mu3 ???
what is procedure to upgrade ???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hpe 3par 8400 OS upgrade from 3.2.2mu6 to 3.3.1 mu3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 6:03 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 332
Last one we had was from 3.2.2eMU4 to 3.3.1MU3, on top of what ever patches we already had they had to add P84 P92 P94 P98 P113 P118 P127 before starting the 3.3.1MU3 update. Some of those maybe included in MU6 but chances are they'll at least be a few extra minimum patches to apply before they can do the upgrade.

Support will give you a list of the current ones when you request the upgrade, also I think 3.3.1MU3 still isn't the 'default' level for 8000 arrays so it takes some arm twisting to get them to go above 3.3.1MU2.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hpe 3par 8400 OS upgrade from 3.2.2mu6 to 3.3.1 mu3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 7:04 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:48 am
Posts: 4
in this situation i must install patches for 3.2.2 MU6 is ?
and with any patch i must start install

please explain the attachment photo


Attachments:
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-21 at 6.48.37 PM.jpeg
WhatsApp Image 2019-08-21 at 6.48.37 PM.jpeg [ 35.11 KiB | Viewed 200 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hpe 3par 8400 OS upgrade from 3.2.2mu6 to 3.3.1 mu3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 8:50 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 923
Location: Europe
3.2.2 MU6 P99 does not obsolete any other patches.

That's what is states and that's what it means.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hpe 3par 8400 OS upgrade from 3.2.2mu6 to 3.3.1 mu3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:08 am 

Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:48 am
Posts: 4
Ok is possible to install latest patch from 3.2.2 mu6 to 3.2.2 mu6 p140 ???


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hpe 3par 8400 OS upgrade from 3.2.2mu6 to 3.3.1 mu3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 9:31 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 332
I think the minimum is likely to be 3.2.2 MU6 + P99 + P119 + P122 + P131 + P135 + P138.
They are all listed as the "Mandatory Upgrade Pre-requisite" patches currently.

Once they are done it's the SP 4.5 upgrade, then the 3.3.1MU3 upgrade, then the SP 5 upgrades till you get to 5.0.5.1 I think and then a bunch of post 3.3.1MU3 patches.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hpe 3par 8400 OS upgrade from 3.2.2mu6 to 3.3.1 mu3
PostPosted: Wed Aug 21, 2019 2:44 pm 

Joined: Wed Aug 21, 2019 4:48 am
Posts: 4
Ok thank you , i have more questions,
Does the patch update need to reboot controller node ?
Can I update from one patch to another directly on the same day ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hpe 3par 8400 OS upgrade from 3.2.2mu6 to 3.3.1 mu3
PostPosted: Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:20 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 332
P patches don't need node restarts and can we installed one after the other okay, some have dependencies so the order installed can matter and some require running commands at the CLI after to finish and check they completed (the release notes will say so if required).

Version changes (e.g. 3.2.2 -> 3.3.1) or MU installs (e.g. 3.3.1MU1 -> 3.3.1MU2) do require node reboots. One node at a time and recommended to use the pause option so you have time to check hosts have reconnected to the rebooted node okay before doing the next in an online live environment.

There are also offline methods that can update/reboot all nodes at the same time but we've always been in a live environment with our 3PARs. :)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 37 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt