3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3PAR thinks an online upgrade is in progress.
PostPosted: Wed Dec 19, 2018 3:54 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:47 pm
Posts: 33
Location: United States
I've re-installed my SP and it thinks there's an online upgrade in progress. When I run checkhealth from the CLI, it doesn't show that there's an online upgrade in progress, but for some reason, even a re-installed SP thinks there's one in progress.

When I go to the "Update 3PAR OS" link from "Update", it takes me to an update status page where it tells me no status is available. It doesn't take me to the update page where you can load an ISO.

Nothing shows as running with showtask -failed, showtask -active, or showtask -all. I've individually rebooted both storage nodes in case something needed to be shaken loose, and still nothing.

Anyone have any ideas why my SP has gone braindead?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR thinks an online upgrade is in progress.
PostPosted: Sat Dec 22, 2018 1:18 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1219
Location: Dallas, Texas
Just spitballing here, but is the SP the correct version to pair with the Inserv? You said you reinstalled it, by chance did that down grade the SP version level?

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR thinks an online upgrade is in progress.
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2019 3:15 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:47 pm
Posts: 33
Location: United States
That sounded like a great idea. I hadn't downgraded the SP. So, I checked the SPOCK spreadsheet and it said that for 3.2.1 MU2, 4.3 MU1 would do. Unfortunately, even with 4.3 MU1, it still thinks it's in the middle of an upgrade.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR thinks an online upgrade is in progress.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 8:26 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:34 am
Posts: 181
Sorry was in Holiday. :D

Try:
upgradesys -status
upgradesys -finish

If this does not solve it, remove the Storage from the SP and add it again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR thinks an online upgrade is in progress.
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2019 2:29 pm 

Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 1:47 pm
Posts: 33
Location: United States
This worked. Thanks. Apparently, 'upgradesys' is not a command that's available to general operating system users because there is no manual page for it. At least, when I asked for help there was nothing. But - when I accidentally typed 'upgradesys finished', it gave me the usage because of my incorrect form, which told me a lot about the command.

'upgrade finish' didn't seem to help. I tried 'upgrade abort', which seemed to work better, but I still could not get the "Upgrade 3PAR OS" link to work on the SP, so I disconnected and re-attached the StoreServ. Now, the link works again.

Thank you for the help.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 21 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt