3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: add 2 or more storages physical processor
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 3:33 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:11 pm
Posts: 16
hi to all !

I've physical service processor ProLiant DL120 Gen9, version 5.0.3.0-24806

I'm need add 2 storages at this sp

when I'm added first storage - all ok

but I'm added second storage - error


storage is already atached

why ? and how to do it correctly ?


Attachments:
SP.JPG
SP.JPG [ 19.07 KiB | Viewed 1120 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: add 2 or more storages physical processor
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 4:58 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 309
At the moment I think you can only have a single array connected to a SP.

You would need to buy another SP or run a virtual SP for the 2nd array.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: add 2 or more storages physical processor
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 6:33 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:11 pm
Posts: 16
ailean wrote:
At the moment I think you can only have a single array connected to a SP.

You would need to buy another SP or run a virtual SP for the 2nd array.



so, why ?

this is not virtual processor, it's physical


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: add 2 or more storages physical processor
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 7:39 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 785
Location: Europe
terminus wrote:
ailean wrote:
At the moment I think you can only have a single array connected to a SP.

You would need to buy another SP or run a virtual SP for the 2nd array.



so, why ?

this is not virtual processor, it's physical

The very simple answer is "Because HPE/3PAR says so". It's been this way forever. It has never been supported (or even possible?) to have more than 1 3PAR connected to a SP.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: add 2 or more storages physical processor
PostPosted: Thu Dec 13, 2018 9:32 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 309
I remember talking with some original 3PAR engineers back in the day about this and they said it could be done but wasn't something they encouraged for customer installs. Since then they have released the virtual SP as a low cost alternative for smaller setups so I don't think they'll change the one-to-one relationship for now. Maybe if they combine the SP and SSMC roles in future.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: add 2 or more storages physical processor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:08 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:11 pm
Posts: 16
ailean wrote:
I remember talking with some original 3PAR engineers back in the day about this and they said it could be done but wasn't something they encouraged for customer installs. Since then they have released the virtual SP as a low cost alternative for smaller setups so I don't think they'll change the one-to-one relationship for now. Maybe if they combine the SP and SSMC roles in future.



so

what about this ?


Attachments:
wtf.JPG
wtf.JPG [ 37.79 KiB | Viewed 1053 times ]
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: add 2 or more storages physical processor
PostPosted: Fri Dec 14, 2018 5:51 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 09, 2011 12:01 pm
Posts: 309
Like I said it's always been possible but it's never been supported for general customer use. ;)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: add 2 or more storages physical processor
PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2018 6:46 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 3:11 pm
Posts: 16
new problem after added two storages at one SP

Notification from storage (SP ID: SP000900000E) Realtime Alert Process

Notify time: 2018/12/15 21:33:33.907 (
Installed machine: 3PAR STORESERV

Event urgency: alert
Severity: Major
Event count: 3
Event time: 2018/12/15 20:25:01.612
Event description: 3PAR StoreServ Authentication Failure

-----------------------Event Message------------------------
12 authentication failures in 120 secs.

---------------------Corrective Action----------------------
Description: An instance of the CLI client unsuccessfully attempted multiple logins within a short period of time. This may be due to an application trying to access the storage system with incorrect login credentials.
Resolution: Ensure that attempts to login are using the correct credentials.

--------------------------Abstract--------------------------
(Major)CLI CLI_AUTH_FAIL 12 authentication failures in 120 secs.

----------------------------Text----------------------------
Event ID: 8934 Node 1 Customer Alert - Yes, Service Alert - Yes
Severity: Major
Event time: Sat Dec 15 20:25:01 2018
Event type: Authentication Failure
Alert ID: 422
Msg ID: 150006
Component: CLI
Event string: 12 authentication failures in 120 secs.
Notification key: 0x0150006
Count: 7, up from 4 reported on Sat Dec 15 13:22:05 2018




any idea ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 13 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt