HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: Should we upgrade from 3.2.1 to 3.2.2?
PostPosted: Tue Apr 17, 2018 3:52 pm 

We have a pair of 7200 3pars that are running 3.2.1 MU3 with Patch 23, doing RC over FC between them. HPE support has been relentlessly hounding us about upgrading them to 3.2.2 EMU4 and now 3.2.2 MU6, with several mentions of this being a "critical update".

So, I started down the road of doing the host worksheet details so they could compare against their support/tested matrix and have gotten back the host worksheets now. We are on firmware 7.3.1a on all of our Brocade fabric switches, and this comes back as an "untested" version and they recommend updating all of the FC switches to at least 7.3.1b or higher.

So, like everyone else, I'm a sysadmin who is stretched thin and strapped for time, and I generally avoid doing firmware updates on critical production systems unless there is a specific feature i need or bug I need fixed. 3.2.1 MU3 has been rock solid for us and we are currently not needing any new features that 3.2.2 might have, and I cannot find any glaring items in the release notes for 3.2.2 that make it obvious that we should update. Is it worth my time and effort to dive into updating the firmware on all of our FC switches and THEN beginning the (somewhat arduous) process of working with HPE to upgrade to 3.2.2 on our arrays, or are we safe to stay with 3.2.1 and tell them to stop e-mailing us about it?

Can anybody speak to anything I'm missing about 3.2.2 that makes it a "critical" update, as mentioned by HPE in their e-mails? Is there a major bug that will bite us if we don't update or something?

In Q1 of 2019 we are going to be purchasing new 8000 series arrays, all flash, and will start migrating workloads off our current 7200's.... is there any reason why 3.2.1 would not be sufficient on the 7200's to allow for seamless migration, assuming the 8000's come with 3.3.x?