3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: VV sets and LUN ID
PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:10 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 18, 2013 7:31 am
Posts: 1
When creating new virtual volumes we always assign them to a specific "virtual volume set".

We did a mistake and exported a new volume (lets call it VV-mistake) to a host set (called vm-1) instead to the VV set where it was meant to go (vm-1vvset). That host set (vm-1) contains the same hosts (ESXs) that are part of the VV set "vm-1-vvset".

1) The LUN ID assigend to "VV-mistake" is 27.
2) The LUN ID of the last volume imported into the VV set "vm-1vvset" currently has the LUN ID 26

We need to correct the current configuration so we were planning to create a new VV and import it into the vm1-vvset. Then we could manually migrate the VMs and remove that VV.

However if we try to import a new VV into the virtual volume set "vm-1vvset", would LUN ID 27 get assigned to the next imported volume? If that is the case we are screwed.

Thanks in advance!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: VV sets and LUN ID
PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2013 11:18 am 

Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 5:08 am
Posts: 77
I would just export a new Volume directly to one of the esx host and move the data from the VV-mistake lun over to that one.

Keep in mind that it has to be our of the range that you have exported your vv-set to the host-set
So take a look under VLUN Templates on the VV-Set.

Then un-export the VV-mistake lun.

And then you add a new volume to the volume set and it should only be to move the data back again.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: VV sets and LUN ID
PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2013 1:25 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1211
Location: Dallas, Texas
I've made a few mistakes like that myself... and going forward no longer use VV sets, only host sets. It seems to be easier to manage in our environment.

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: VV sets and LUN ID
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 9:15 am 

Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:29 pm
Posts: 16
Richard Siemers wrote:
I've made a few mistakes like that myself... and going forward no longer use VV sets, only host sets. It seems to be easier to manage in our environment.


Everywhere I look, they say in 3.2.2, HP fixed LUN IDs being sequential and now when you add new VV into a VVSET, it will skip used LUNIDs but it`s not doing that. Do you know anything about that?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: VV sets and LUN ID
PostPosted: Mon Apr 08, 2019 7:47 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 9:32 pm
Posts: 81
Exporting volume sets to hosts is evil and nasty :-)

that aside ... you could cludge your way around things by ..

1) Export VV-mistake to the host set a 2nd time, with a high LUN ID (say 100)
2) Rescan for storage on VMware, vmware should treat the extra LUN ID to a volume it already knows about as extra paths.
3) Un-export vv-mistake from LUN ID 27 on the host set
4) Rescan
5) Add vv-mistake ot the volume set, it should go in as the LUN ID you are expecting
6) rescan
7) Unexport vv-mistake from host set LUN ID 100
8) rescan


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt