3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: HP 3par 3paradm user's password change
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 7:36 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:48 am
Posts: 5
Hi All,

Is there a method to change the password of 3paradm user from a remote host . for eg a linux server which has a normal user connectivity to 3par storage [using a script ...].

If not, is it possible through 3paradm user itself, remotely .

Regards,
Novel


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP 3par 3paradm user's password change
PostPosted: Thu Dec 14, 2017 1:14 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 561
If you got SSH connectivity you can change it with setuser - p comand.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP 3par 3paradm user's password change
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 4:57 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 2:48 am
Posts: 5
Thank you MammaGutt,

setuser does not have a -p option. From help page, we see it can only edit the domain and role of a user.

<snip>

root@Ubuntu:~# ssh -l cghelion x.x.x.x "showuser"
Password:

root@Ubuntu:~# ssh -l cghelion x.x.x.x "setuser -p 123456 -u user1"
Password:
setuser: Syntax error.
SYNTAX
setuser [options] <user>
root@Ubuntu:~# ssh -l cghelion x.x.x.x "setuser -p 123456 user1"
Password:
setuser: Syntax error.
SYNTAX
setuser [options] <user>
root@Ubuntu:~# ssh -l cghelion x.x.x.x "setuser user1 -p 123456"
Password:
setuser: Syntax error.
SYNTAX
setuser [options] <user>

<snip>

The following command is working..

setpassword -u user1

BUT

our script requirement is to give the password along with the command like when we create a user as follows:

createuser -c 123456 user1 testdomain edit


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP 3par 3paradm user's password change
PostPosted: Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:22 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 561
Yes, sorry. I mixed up the commands.

I don't know any way you can pass the new password in clear text.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP 3par 3paradm user's password change
PostPosted: Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:46 am 

Joined: Tue Jun 13, 2017 2:57 am
Posts: 19
And what is the impact of changing the 3paradm password ?

Does we need to adapt it on the SP/VSP ? ... ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: HP 3par 3paradm user's password change
PostPosted: Mon Dec 25, 2017 5:16 am 

Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:08 pm
Posts: 3
novelkumar wrote:
Thank you MammaGutt,

The following command is working..

setpassword -u user1

BUT

our script requirement is to give the password along with the command like when we create a user as follows:

createuser -c 123456 user1 testdomain edit


How about forget passwords and use ssh keys?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt