HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Convert a 4 node to 2 node 3par.....
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:10 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:48 pm
Posts: 20
This is purely development, non-production, non-supported question.

Has anyone successfully converted a 4 node to a 2 node? And I don't mean the easy way when you have node 0 and 1. I mean with node 2 and 3.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Convert a 4 node to 2 node 3par.....
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:29 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1021
Location: Europe
So you want to keep nodes 2 and 3 in the system and remove 0 and 1?

Do you intend to keep the data on the array? If no, just start from scratch with ootb.

If yes, I don't quite see how you can do this. As far as I know, you don't have a dismissnode command, so even if you were to empty all PDs behind nodes 0 and 1, dismiss those and dismiss the cages, the system will be forever degraded with 2 nodes missing (and probably not power up after power loss) and probably crash when the second node is shutdown/removed.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Convert a 4 node to 2 node 3par.....
PostPosted: Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:36 pm 

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2014 4:48 pm
Posts: 20
I have only 2 and 3 and 0 and 1 was sent elsewhere. Of course 0 and 1 will work but not sure if anything can be done to make 2 and 3 work.

How about doing something crazy like a node rescue to make node 2 the new node 0 pulling data from node 3......

Also there is no data, not in production....


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Convert a 4 node to 2 node 3par.....
PostPosted: Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:58 am 

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 3:03 pm
Posts: 28
Read PM.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Convert a 4 node to 2 node 3par.....
PostPosted: Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:30 pm 

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:10 pm
Posts: 2
The thread is quiet old, but I'm also interested in this topic.

Got a single node 7400 (controller 2+3) to play with.
Hardware seems totally fine (also flash disks in the controllers seem to have valid content), but the controllers won't boot up.

Symptoms:
- amber battery LED is on -> but this seems to be normal behaviour at start, because also our 7400 (in production) does the same, but when the controllers get ready the light goes off. I also tested it with working PSUs... so the PSUs/batteries should be fine
- warning and UID LEDs keep start flashing, become briefly solid and continue to flash forever
- unfortunately NO serial output

I don't think this is a hardware fault, rather two desparate controllers trying to find the other node with c0 and c1?

Can someone help me with this? Or explain whats happening?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Convert a 4 node to 2 node 3par.....
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 12:27 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1021
Location: Europe
You should have serial output during boot. If you don't you might have incorrect cable or terminal settings on you laptop.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Convert a 4 node to 2 node 3par.....
PostPosted: Wed Mar 11, 2020 1:19 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 10, 2020 2:10 pm
Posts: 2
The same cable works on our 7400.
So I guess it has to work also on this one.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], MSN [Bot] and 32 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt