HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:44 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1280
Location: Dallas, Texas
Anyone using AO with SSD?

My intent is for AO to use 100% of my SSD, however it seems to hit a glass ceiling leaving 20% free, only 80% of my SDD is getting used.

I have no alerts or limits on the Tier 0 SSD cpg, any ideas where I need to be looking in order to utilize this last remaining 20%?

Thanks.

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2015 11:50 am 

Joined: Tue May 07, 2013 1:45 pm
Posts: 216
Have you looked at the AO job output? It tells you what the threshold it uses for Tier1->Tier0 and Tier2->Tier0 movements as far as latency and IO density are concerned and how many bytes it is going to run each iteration. If it decides to move data it moves it in 16GB chunks (at least in my environment on our 7400 running 3.1.2 MU5) and will move no more than 1TB per day.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 03, 2015 6:24 am 

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:14 am
Posts: 505
The 3.2.2 release now provides finer grained control over SSD use in AO environments.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 11:07 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:42 am
Posts: 169
Hi Richard Sir,

In my case SSD was utilized 100%, we had to install new SSD drives to fullfill the requirement.

But I dont know where we need to check (I dont think there is a option to define the threshold on movement)

May be your VVs are not so hot to move to SSD.

Please do correct me if I'm wrong.

Regards,
KK


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 12:54 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:30 am
Posts: 576
I have found AO still to be too much biased toward pushing data down. I am constantly having to deal with my bottom tier being space constrained while my higher tiers are wide open.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2015 3:57 pm 

Joined: Wed Sep 18, 2013 2:41 pm
Posts: 72
There are some deep commandline options as i know of to "force" data to be moved to SSD based on latency or IOPS, but i have to look for them. Or otherwise, move your VM's with storage vmotion to a SSD VV which is not in a AO config.

I would advice to perform some region-density reports again, and as kk2491 mentioned, maybe there is no reason for some data to move up, so your are nice in balance. That's we're AO is all about.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 5:27 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:34 am
Posts: 197
Hi Richard,

with 3.2.2 you can use the AO Premium Mode for this:

Setting up the Premium AO mode will keep the tier0 CPG full regardless of IOPS in order to best utilize the SSDs.
Adaptive Optimization will still respect the CPG space warning or limit settings. The Premium mode will still prevent movement if the destination CPG has high average service times.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 6:43 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:30 am
Posts: 576
cali wrote:
Hi Richard,

with 3.2.2 you can use the AO Premium Mode for this:

Setting up the Premium AO mode will keep the tier0 CPG full regardless of IOPS in order to best utilize the SSDs.
Adaptive Optimization will still respect the CPG space warning or limit settings. The Premium mode will still prevent movement if the destination CPG has high average service times.


Now that is what I am looking for! It is about time. Thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Tue Nov 10, 2015 9:44 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1280
Location: Dallas, Texas
Premium mode is exactly what I need. Thanks Cali.

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Fri Nov 13, 2015 12:51 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:14 am
Posts: 505
3PAR AO Enhancements Review

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IyiBMcydDzM


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 18 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt