HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Mon Nov 16, 2015 6:36 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 29, 2012 9:30 am
Posts: 576
Interesting, so Premium mode is not supported, but min/max is supported by CLI? 3par really needs to get their act together with this stuff.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Thu Nov 26, 2015 9:24 am 
User avatar

Joined: Tue Oct 07, 2014 8:34 am
Posts: 198
Location: Germany
It seems that the AO Premium Mode was planed in 3.2.2, but not implemented.
In fact I set the Premium Mode and it did not work.
Error: can't read "ao_mode": no such variable

Now found a hint in the 3.2.2 MU1 Release note:

149461 HPE 3PAR OS 3.2.2 incorrectly allows the premium mode to be set to an AOCFG object, but it will fail AO scheduled tasks with premium mode.
The functionality was removed but the setting was not.

:o


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: AO and SSD
PostPosted: Tue Jan 12, 2021 9:10 pm 

Joined: Mon Mar 09, 2020 8:34 am
Posts: 63
Premium mode does not exist, it never went into production.

We had the same issue, ~6TB of SSD space begging to be used, AO even in performance mode would only use ~600GB out of this.

The answer is to give your aocfg a minimum to fill up the SSD Tier:-

In addition to disabling the raw space alerts when the entire SSD tier is used only for AO, a tier minimum value can be set. 3PAR InForm OS 3.2.2 and later includes the ability to set tier minimum and maximum values. These options were designed to address the use case of an environment where all SSD space is dedicated to AO. Use this option by first calculating the usable space in the SSD tier available to AO. A configuration of 8 x 480 GB MLC SSDs in a RAID 5 CPG, for example, results in about 2.6 TB of usable space available to AO. Specify this as the tier minimum for AO with a command such as setaocfg –t0min 2.6T CPG_SSD_r5. Tier minimum and maximums may also be set with the createaocfg and startao commands.

I have set 768GB for AFC, and set about 5TB to be used for AO. No clue if our AFC stats are any good or not, thats the next thing to review and tweak.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 13 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 35 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt