HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Modify SSMC 3.2 to allow access to 3par OS 3.1.2?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 3:14 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 9:07 pm
Posts: 4
Hello everyone!

I am trying to gain access to my 3par 7200, OS 3.1.2

I am out of contract and warranty, so do not have the ability to download the new OS update at this time. (HPE Support requests are taken as sales opportunities, but this is a for fun/learning hobby)

I have managed to get running SSMC versions 3.1 3.2 and the recent versions which are publicly downloadable, but none are compatible with 3par os 3.1.2 (Tracking down 3.1 and 3.2 took nearly all the "Google foo" I have and over a week or messing around)

I am hoping someone can help me figure out how to access this 3par. I have managed to gain access to the CLI, which I am slowly making progress with (have a vlun actually working!) but this process would be way faster if I had a working GUI.

Maybe:
1) Be pointed to where I can edit the /opt/hpe/ssmc/ssmcbase/??? files to allow the older os to be perceived as compatible? (Probably this wont work..?)
2) Find a copy of SSMC 3.1.2 (I assume it too was public, so there should be a copy somewhere, if not, or if not allowed, I understand why.)
3) Find an upgrade OS for 3par? --> This is think is least likely, as the software appears to be gated.


Any help is appreciated.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Modify SSMC 3.2 to allow access to 3par OS 3.1.2?
PostPosted: Tue Feb 04, 2020 9:36 pm 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1234
Location: Dallas, Texas
Wondering if you called support, after they verify you are off contract, they will offer time and materials quote for services if you are interested. I wonder if they will provide a quote to do a 1 time software upgrade?

_________________
Richard Siemers
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my employer.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Modify SSMC 3.2 to allow access to 3par OS 3.1.2?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 1:42 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 1002
Location: Europe
If I'm not mistaken, the old/unsupported versions of 3PAR (prior to 3.1.3) OS doesn't support the commands used by SSMC. So I don't think there is a quick fix.

_________________
The views and opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of my current or previous employers.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Modify SSMC 3.2 to allow access to 3par OS 3.1.2?
PostPosted: Wed Feb 05, 2020 10:45 am 

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 9:07 pm
Posts: 4
Richard Siemers wrote:
Wondering if you called support, after they verify you are off contract, they will offer time and materials quote for services if you are interested. I wonder if they will provide a quote to do a 1 time software upgrade?


I did call, but they actually pushed me to sales for a support contract, which I declined.

This makes sense though, I'll call back and ask about this option. Good thought!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Modify SSMC 3.2 to allow access to 3par OS 3.1.2?
PostPosted: Thu Feb 13, 2020 7:41 pm 

Joined: Tue Jan 28, 2020 9:07 pm
Posts: 4
Yeah, they round about said no. Either get a support contract or buy new hardware. Guess I just get to hangout with an old os.

Thanks for the guidance though. Appreciate it.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 19 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt