HPE Storage Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community

Post subject: Missing space 7200
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 8:45 am 

Hi there.

First of all, I am new to 3par.

I have a vv called 3par_EXCH where i have placed all my exchange servers. 2 DAG servers, and 2 CASHubtransport servers.

the vv total size is 1525 GB. In my Management console it shows that i have used 85% of the space, 1383,00 GB.
However, if i take all the disks on my servers, i can see the following:

Total allocated disk space: 1.421 GB
On my windows disks, i have totally consumed: 1.161 GB, so it seems like 222 GB have dissapered into a black hole.
I have enabled THIN provisioning on the vv ofcourse.

The question is, what i can do now.
Running sdelete is one option, but since this is exchange servers, i would expect the exchange servers to always overwrite space, because there are so many writes all the time, but maybe i am not right.

I have read about a command called compactcpg, but i don't think that that command is meant for my situation?

Suggestions?

Thanks and best regards from Denmark.

Post subject: Re: Missing space 7200
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2014 1:45 pm 

You have NTFS underneath Exchange so it decides where the data actually resides in the file system and it doesn't overwrite old blocks unless it's getting low on space. There are a couple numbers you need to look at, one is "reserved" and the other "used" easiest way to look at this is at the CLI

showvv -s "vvname" and it will show you what 3PAR believes is used vs what it has reserved for a given volume. Once you have output you'll have a better idea.

You may as well try a compact CPG anyway it'll let you know if there's space that can be reclaimed from the CPG.

Latest version of the thin prov doc here, you could use the fsutil for the reclaim as it's safer than sdelete page 27/28.
http://h20195.www2.hp.com/V2/GetDocumen ... c=us&lc=en