3PAR Users Group
http://3parug.com/

vMotion Data to new array keeping remote copy data
http://3parug.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=2763
Page 1 of 1

Author:  MikeVegas [ Fri Jan 12, 2018 9:35 am ]
Post subject:  vMotion Data to new array keeping remote copy data

Hi all,

I have a 7400 and 8450 array and I am going to migrate a file server from one to the other using svMotion. The server is 8 Tb in size and is remote copied to our DR site on a 7200. Is there a way to break the remote copy, perform the svMotion and then re-pair the volume on the new array with the data on the DR array that is already there so I don't have to re-sync all of the data over my WAN?

I know peer motion is an option but if I can do this via svMotion that would be better.

Thanks in advance.
Mike :)

Author:  Noss [ Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:04 am ]
Post subject:  Re: vMotion Data to new array keeping remote copy data

I'm not sure how that would work? With Storage vMotion your are not working at 3PAR VV level. You will have a different 3PAR volume on the new array for you to svmotion to.

Author:  jbguy [ Tue Jan 16, 2018 4:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: vMotion Data to new array keeping remote copy data

If I understand what you are looking for correctly try this out:

https://dragos.madarasan.com/blog/move- ... opy-group/

I just used it to remove a VV from a remote copy group and readd without doing a full resync.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/