3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: remote system failed to update qw
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:41 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:36 am
Posts: 7
I have 3 3par systems in peer persistence and it sometimes occurs this message:

remote system failed to update qw (Quorum Witness) on both nodes.

Where can I find more details about this info?
Quorum Witness is a virtual machine


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: remote system failed to update qw
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:06 pm 

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:26 am
Posts: 16
check the communication between QW machine and management interfaces of arrays with
{ setrcopy } command.execute command in all arrays.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: remote system failed to update qw
PostPosted: Mon Jan 08, 2018 2:58 pm 

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:36 am
Posts: 7
ehsankhayyat wrote:
check the communication between QW machine and management interfaces of arrays with
{ setrcopy } command.execute command in all arrays.



I check WQ by command you suggested and It's ok.
I'd like to see log about this event in Quorum Witness VM, so I search it into couch.log but there is no entry about "remote system failed to update qw".
This happens once a day in different time so I don't know how to check more deeply it.
thanks


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: remote system failed to update qw
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 1:07 am 

Joined: Thu Aug 13, 2015 1:26 am
Posts: 16
If I understand correctly when you get error ( remote system failed to update qw ) , network communication between all arrays with QW machine is OKEY.( you test it with setrcopy command).Is it correct or not ?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: remote system failed to update qw
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 2:16 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:36 am
Posts: 7
ehsankhayyat wrote:
If I understand correctly when you get error ( remote system failed to update qw ) , network communication between all arrays with QW machine is OKEY.( you test it with setrcopy command).Is it correct or not ?


It's correct.
I should be lucky that is, when event occurs I should be linked to 3par cli and verify immediately running the command.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: remote system failed to update qw
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 4:51 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 488
I'm guessing you're thinking about setrcopytarget witness check <ip> and not setrcopy?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: remote system failed to update qw
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:25 am 

Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:36 am
Posts: 7
MammaGutt wrote:
I'm guessing you're thinking about setrcopytarget witness check <ip> and not setrcopy?


the former "setrcopytarget witness check <ip>"
I tried it in several times and it's ok.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt