3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Question about remote copy
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:34 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 4
Location: WI
Good afternoon all. First post here.

I recently came into a roll that uses 3PAR a few months back and am still learning the ropes.

We recently enabled Remote Copy and its running well but I was examining one of our 3PARs and noticed that it now has a lot more space used. I took a look at the CPG and it shows that there are 20tb of snapshots which is weird since I have never done snapshots.

The VVs that have the snapshots appear to be the Volumes that are being remote copied. Am I correct to assume these are from that operation?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about remote copy
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:11 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 478
Remote copy uses snapshots directly(async/periodic) and indirectly (sync).

Async will write all changes to a snapshot which is transferred at set intervals and sync will use a snapshot to keep track of changes when the rc croup is stopped.

You can do "showvv - s" in CLI/SSH too see the space used by each volume. If snap space is reserved and no snapshots are seen (async snapahots are visable) you could do "freespace <vvname> to release the space back to the CPG.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about remote copy
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 2:12 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 4
Location: WI
MammaGutt wrote:
Remote copy uses snapshots directly(async/periodic) and indirectly (sync).

Async will write all changes to a snapshot which is transferred at set intervals and sync will use a snapshot to keep track of changes when the rc croup is stopped.

You can do "showvv - s" in CLI/SSH too see the space used by each volume. If snap space is reserved and no snapshots are seen (async snapahots are visable) you could do "freespace <vvname> to release the space back to the CPG.


Thanks for the information. We use periodic for our replication method.

I ran the command and there is a reserved value. We don't use snapshots so i'm assuming this is for the remote copy process. Is it safe to use the free space command while data is still replicating?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about remote copy
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 4:17 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 478
With periodic you always have at least one active snapshot so you can't use freespace. It will give an error stating it has active snapshot if you try.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about remote copy
PostPosted: Fri Dec 01, 2017 9:58 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 4
Location: WI
MammaGutt wrote:
With periodic you always have at least one active snapshot so you can't use freespace. It will give an error stating it has active snapshot if you try.


Thanks for the information.

Will the snapshot always be so large or does it go down once the initial seed is complete?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Question about remote copy
PostPosted: Tue Dec 05, 2017 9:48 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:20 am
Posts: 4
Location: WI
Just bumping this one to see if there is any other information people might have on it.

Right now I have over 30tb of snapshots for the periodic remote copy and it doesnt seem to go down. We only have 8.3tb free overall and Im wondering why my other 3PAR didnt eat up that much snapshot space.

Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 10 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt