3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgrade
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 6:53 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 20
Hi Guys,

I'm receiving this error below after upgrading our HP SN3000B SAN Switch OS from version 7.3.1 to v.8.1.1a

BIT_Central_Storage cli% checkupgrade
Host EbsDB_prod is not seen by multiple nodes
Host EbsAPP-prod is not seen by multiple nodes
Host CrmDB_prod is not seen by multiple nodes
Host CrmAPP_prod is not seen by multiple nodes
Host Otm_prod is not seen by multiple nodes
Host Soa_prod is not seen by multiple nodes
Host Ebs-dev is not seen by multiple nodes
Host Crm_dev is not seen by multiple nodes
Host Otm_dev is not seen by multiple nodes
Host Soa_dev is not seen by multiple nodes


The system cannot proceed with an online upgrade due to the above errors.

HP 3PAR Model : HP 3PAR 7440c 4 Nodes
InServOS Version : 3.2.1(MU2)
SAN Switch Model: HP SN3000B

Any help is really much appreciated.

Thank you so much.

JunG


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:40 am 

Joined: Wed Dec 04, 2013 6:14 am
Posts: 11
Did you go directly from 7.3.1 to v.8.1.1a?

That is not supported.

Upgrade Path to Brocade for Open Systems Environments
FOS 7.2.1g* > FOS 7.3.1d/e > FOS 7.4.2a > FOS 8.0.2c
*Note: Brocade FOS 7.2.1d or later is recommended for the Brocade 7800.

Upgrade Path to Brocade for FICON Environments
FOS 7.2.1d > FOS 7.3.1c* > FOS 7.4.2a > FOS 8.0.2b
*Note: For FCIP FICON emulation (XRC, tape, etc.), substitute the recommended releases noted in Table 2

ref: https://www.brocade.com/content/dam/com ... t-path.pdf


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2017 10:44 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 478
There could be a million different reasons here.

I'm assuming you've upgraded one fabric and stopped when you saw this?

If you reboot one of the servers which are only seen by one node, does it come back up? If it does you have a issue with the host, most likely OS bugs or drivers (not likely but could also be firmware).

If you've only done one fabric and things are like this, what OS, HBA, driver and firmware are you using on the servers with issue?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Mon Dec 04, 2017 3:43 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 20
Hi MammaGutt,

Thanks for the reply.
Actually, what i did was upgrade first SAN Switch1 with this HOPS 7.3.1-> 7.4-> 8.0.2-> 8.1.1a
and do the upgrade of SAN Switch2 afterwards.

HPE sent me questionaire excel file with regards to host OS, HBA, Driver and Firmware and all passed aside from SAN Switch Firmware which they told me to upgrade first and i did.

To Mastrboy,

I did the upgrade with 3 HOPS 7.3.1-> 7.4-> 8.0.2-> 8.1.1a as per the recommendation of HPE Engineer.

Note: Zoning is working good in both SAN Switches but in HP 3PAR Management console I can only see one port used for all the hosts.

Thanks.

JunG


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 8:01 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:31 am
Posts: 3
Hi,

in similar cases I was successful with reseat the fc cables. If the switch is too far you can switch off/on the switchport. Avoid to do this with the surviving fabric...

Mathias


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 2:11 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 20
Hi mathiasz,

Thanks for the email. I've already did that and even restarted the host itself but still when i ran "checkupgrade" in 3PAR 7440c I'm getting the same error "Host is not seen by multiple nodes."

Anyway, i'm just waiting fix from HPE engineer as I've already logged a ticket with them.

I'll update here once HPE fix this issue.

Thanks

JunG


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:23 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:26 am
Posts: 43
Just out of interest what does checkhealth output?

checkhealth -svc -detail

and
showhost -pathsum


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Fri Dec 08, 2017 12:28 pm 

Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:26 am
Posts: 43
and

showport


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 5:12 am 

Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2017 2:14 pm
Posts: 20
Hi Noss,
Please find checkhealth -svc -details and showport output below:

BIT_Central_Storage cli% checkhealth -svc -detail
Checking alert
Checking ao
Checking cabling
Checking cage
Checking cert
Checking dar
Checking date
Checking file
Checking fs
Checking host
Checking ld
Checking license
Checking network
Checking node
Checking pd
Checking pdch
Checking port
Checking qos
Checking rc
Checking snmp
Checking task
Checking vlun
Checking vv
Checking sp
Component -------------------Description-------------------- Qty
host Hosts not seen by multiple nodes 10
Host Host ports not configured for virtual port support 4
License Licenses which have expired 1
Port Unavailable host ports 4
vlun Hosts not connected to a port 10

Component ---Identifier--- -----------------------------Description------------------------------
host EbsDB_prod Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 0
host EbsAPP-prod Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 0
host Otm_prod Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 0
host Soa_prod Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 0
host Otm_dev Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 0
host Soa_dev Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 0
host CrmDB_prod Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 2
host CrmAPP_prod Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 2
host Ebs-dev Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 2
host Crm_dev Host is not seen by multiple nodes, only seen from node 2
Host Port:1:1:1 Port WWN not found on FC Fabric attached to Port:0:1:1
Host Port:0:1:2 Port WWN not found on FC Fabric attached to Port:1:1:2
Host Port:3:1:1 Port WWN not found on FC Fabric attached to Port:2:1:1
Host Port:3:1:2 Port WWN not found on FC Fabric attached to Port:2:1:2
License Peer Motion License has expired
Port port:1:1:1 Port listed as host path but is State:ready, Mode:target and Type:free
Port port:1:1:2 Port listed as host path but is State:ready, Mode:target and Type:free
Port port:3:1:1 Port listed as host path but is State:ready, Mode:target and Type:free
Port port:3:1:2 Port listed as host path but is State:ready, Mode:target and Type:free
vlun host:EbsDB_prod Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:EbsAPP-prod Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:CrmDB_prod Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:CrmAPP_prod Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:Otm_prod Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:Soa_prod Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:Ebs-dev Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:Crm_dev Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:Otm_dev Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
vlun host:Soa_dev Host wwn:xxxxxxxxxxxx is not connected to a port
BIT_Central_Storage cli%
=============================================================

BIT_Central_Storage cli% showport
N:S:P Mode State ----Node_WWN---- -Port_WWN/HW_Addr- Type Protocol Label Partner FailoverState
0:0:1 initiator ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx disk SAS DP-1 - -
0:0:2 initiator loss_sync xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx free SAS DP-2 - -
0:1:1 target ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx host FC - 1:1:1 none
0:1:2 target ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx host FC - 1:1:2 none
0:3:1 peer offline - xxxxxxxxxxx rcip IP RCIP0 - -
1:0:1 initiator ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx disk SAS DP-1 - -
1:0:2 initiator loss_sync xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx free SAS DP-2 - -
1:1:1 target ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx free FC - 0:1:1 none
1:1:2 target ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx free FC - 0:1:2 none
1:3:1 peer offline - xxxxxxxxxxx rcip IP RCIP1 - -
2:0:1 initiator ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx disk SAS DP-1 - -
2:0:2 initiator loss_sync xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx free SAS DP-2 - -
2:1:1 target ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx host FC - 3:1:1 none
2:1:2 target ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx host FC - 3:1:2 none
2:3:1 peer offline - xxxxxxxxxxx rcip IP RCIP2 - -
3:0:1 initiator ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx disk SAS DP-1 - -
3:0:2 initiator loss_sync xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx free SAS DP-2 - -
3:1:1 target ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx free FC - 2:1:1 none
3:1:2 target ready xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx free FC - 2:1:2 none
3:3:1 peer offline - xxxxxxxxxxx rcip IP RCIP3 - -
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanks
JunG


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Host is not seen by Multiple Nodes after fabrics OS upgr
PostPosted: Sun Dec 10, 2017 12:44 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 478
How is your 3PAR connected to the SAN-switches?

0:1:1 and 1:1:1 needs to be connected to the same fabric. Based on the output it doesn't seem to be or you are using zoning based on hardware ports and not WWN.

Same port on both nodes in a pair needs to be connected to the same fabric for Persistent ports to work as they are partner ports for each other.

Edit: from what I can see, there is no host connected thru node 1 or node 3. Could it be cabled so that node 0 and 2 are cabled to one fabric and 1 and 3 are connected to the other? This looks more and more like a SAN-switch issue..... if you log onto the SAN-switch, what does "nsshow" display? It should display all hosts/WWNs logged into the FC switch.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt