3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 3PAR correct remove cage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 6:47 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:48 am
Posts: 6
Hello,
I have 3PAR 7400c and two cage M6720.
Service Processor 5.0.2.0-23974, 3PAR OS 3.3.1.215 (GA)+P01,P02,P04,P06,P13,P16
Code:
showcage
=====================================
Id Name  LoopA Pos.A LoopB Pos.B Drives Temp  RevA RevB Model FormFactor
 0 cage0 1:0:1     0 0:0:1     0     16 30-31 4082 4082 DCN1  SFF       
 1 cage1 1:0:2     0 0:0:2     0     12 32-35 4082 4082 DCS1  LFF       
 2 cage2 1:0:1     1 0:0:1     1     23 32-35 4082 4082 DCS1  LFF
I need to remove "cage2". My actions:
- all data deleted on cage2
- all physical disks are deleted using the command "dismisspd"
- all physical disk have status "new"
- trying to remove "cage2"
Code:
servicecage remove cage2
Are you sure you want to run "servicecage remove cage2"?
select q=quit y=yes n=no: y
Remove cage2 failed. It has active ports
And now interesting, i'm trying to offline the ports "1:0:1":
Code:
controlport offline 1:0:1
WARNING: Port 1:0:1 has active disks that may be disrupted.
Are you sure you want to run controlport offline on port 1:0:1?
select q=quit y=yes n=no: y
and "0:0:1":
Code:
controlport offline 0:0:1
WARNING: Port 0:0:1 has active disks that may be disrupted.
Are you sure you want to run controlport offline on port 0:0:1?
select q=quit y=yes n=no: y
Oops! And here the system 3PAR reboots with errors:
lost connection with virtual volume ".srdata" and "admin" who were on "cage0"
Tell me how to correctly remove "cage2".
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR correct remove cage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:04 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 454
Look at your showcage and see how cage0 is connected. When you offline 0:0:1 and 1:0:1 you're also cutting off cage0 which contains the FC drives which has the .srdata and admin volumes.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR correct remove cage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 7:09 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:48 am
Posts: 6
MammaGutt wrote:
Look at your showcage and see how cage0 is connected. When you offline 0:0:1 and 1:0:1 you're also cutting off cage0 which contains the FC drives which has the .srdata and admin volumes.

–£es I saw it. How to make that at these ports was connected only "cage2"?
How to correctly remove "cage2"?
Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR correct remove cage
PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2017 8:56 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 454
I would assume that you need to dismiss all pds in the cage prior to removing the cage.

I haven't done it before so just an assumption based on it complaining about active ports.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 3PAR correct remove cage
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 11:44 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 09, 2017 5:48 am
Posts: 6
Contact HPE support, their recommendations:
- move data from the cage2 (http://3parug.com/viewtopic.php?p=5529)
- "dismisspd" all physical disks in cage2
- turn off the power supply units in cage2
- execute the command "servicecage remove cage2"
- disconnect all cables from cage2
- execute the command "adminhw"
Good luck!


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt