3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: minimum disks requirement for capacity expansion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 10:24 am 

Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:56 pm
Posts: 5
Hi,

We have a small StoreServe 8200, single enclosure with 12 SSD's and need to upgrade capacity.
The question that we have:
How many disks are needed at minimum ?
is it 2 or 4 ?

Can we add the disks ourselves once purchased ?

thanks for your reply


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: minimum disks requirement for capacity expansion
PostPosted: Wed Dec 06, 2017 11:10 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 478
2 is minimum, but recommended minimum depends on CPG set size.

Some countries allow you install yourself, others don't. If you are allowed, remember to check SPOCK for minimum firmware required for the addon as the exact SSD model may have changed since you got the system. If you install them without the correct firmware they will not admit, you just remove the drives after install they may not be accepted when re-admitted, so read first, check second and install third if you do it yourself.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: minimum disks requirement for capacity expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 4:47 am 

Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2014 4:56 pm
Posts: 5
Thanks for responding

When I look at the quickspecs for the 8200, I come across this :

https://www.hpe.com/h20195/v2/GetDocume ... =c04607918

“Minimum upgrade quantity is 4 drives per node pair or 2 drives per enclosure, whichever is larger.”

When I use NinjaStars to get an indication of usable capacity after adding disks, I don't get warned when I select 2 disks to add to the system. This is why I get in doubt of what the minimum would be.

So, Can I trust NinjaStars when it doesn't complain when adding 2 disks instead of 4 ?
Or do I need to follow the quickspecs ?

By the way, we use RAID5 (5+1)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: minimum disks requirement for capacity expansion
PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2017 3:53 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:14 am
Posts: 464
forgetting cage HA then it's two minimum per node pair or two minimum per enclosure if you are adding across multiple enclosures i.e. you always need an even number of drives per enclosure, but not necessarily the same number per enclosure.

Also if you don't add in set size x nodes e.g. 5+1 x 2 nodes = 12 disks (assuming a balanced config). Then you'll need the tunesys to complete before you can access all of the new space.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt