3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: IoMeter to 3par
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:47 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:21 am
Posts: 16
How do you connect iometer to 3par?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IoMeter to 3par
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 3:57 am 

Joined: Tue Mar 29, 2016 9:32 pm
Posts: 44
Present a volume from the 3PAR to the host, format it, and then have it as a target uder IOmeter.

Make sure you use a volume that is a good multiple of sizes bigger than the 3PAR cache so you don;t just end up testing cache speed ... but its a very synthetic test, good for showing awesome IOPs numbers that mean nothing in real life :-)


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IoMeter to 3par
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 5:02 am 

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 1:21 am
Posts: 16
Is chart PD usage-total IOPS showing the same thing?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IoMeter to 3par
PostPosted: Tue Nov 14, 2017 4:19 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:14 am
Posts: 452
If you're looking at PD's (statpd) then that's back end IOps i.e. including parity overheads etc, basically that will tell you how busy / stressed the back end disks are. Whereas IOmeter measures front end numbers i.e. what your application is likely to see (statvlun).

If you do use IOmeter make sure you use multiple volumes and set a reasonable queue depth on the volumes you are testing, it defaults to "1" which will not stress the array enough to provide meaningful results. Also make sure you document your test setup so they can be easily repeated, not doing so is liable to lead to confusion later on.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IoMeter to 3par
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:39 am 
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 10:35 pm
Posts: 1141
Location: Ft Worth, Texas
I recommend VDbench instead of IOmeter.

VDbench allows you to reliably set the dedupe and compression ratio of the data being sent to the LUNs.

_________________
Richard Siemers
Storage Admin, Pier 1 Imports
The opinions and positions expressed are my own and do not necessarily reflect those of Pier 1 Imports.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: IoMeter to 3par
PostPosted: Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:19 pm 

Joined: Wed Nov 19, 2014 5:14 am
Posts: 452
Absolutely agree but it does require a bit more knowledge and investment in terms of time to make good use of VDbench.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google [Bot] and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt