3PAR Users Group

A Storage Administrator Community




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: 7200 Controller swap to 7450?
PostPosted: Wed Sep 13, 2017 2:43 pm 

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:14 pm
Posts: 17
Does it make sense to swap the 7200 controllers with 7450 controllers? I am guessing as newer firmware comes out the older controllers may not work as well as the 7450.

Does anyone on these forums have any scripts, notes, docs on how this can be accomplished? Not saying i will attempt just very curious how its done.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 7200 Controller swap to 7450?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 12:53 am 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 395
I'm having problems understanding how you will be able to do this.. at least if you want to keep your data.

http://h20564.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/pub ... id=5335712

3.3.1 will be the last firmware for the 7000 series so both the 7200 and 7450 stops there.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 7200 Controller swap to 7450?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 10:51 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:14 pm
Posts: 17
MammaGutt wrote:
I'm having problems understanding how you will be able to do this.. at least if you want to keep your data.

http://h20564.www2.hpe.com/hpsc/doc/pub ... id=5335712

3.3.1 will be the last firmware for the 7000 series so both the 7200 and 7450 stops there.


I can move data off


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 7200 Controller swap to 7450?
PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 2:15 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 395
Then your only major technical issue would be licensing and spinning media if you have that. 7450 are an all-flash array, so unsure if there are anything preventing you from inserting HDDs. Support-wise nothing of this is supported, so you will from every aspect be unsupported.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 7200 Controller swap to 7450?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 10:10 am 

Joined: Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:14 pm
Posts: 17
MammaGutt wrote:
Then your only major technical issue would be licensing and spinning media if you have that. 7450 are an all-flash array, so unsure if there are anything preventing you from inserting HDDs. Support-wise nothing of this is supported, so you will from every aspect be unsupported.


Perhaps i should go with 7400 controllers if 7450's are all flash, unless otherwise


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: 7200 Controller swap to 7450?
PostPosted: Fri Sep 15, 2017 3:39 pm 

Joined: Mon Sep 21, 2015 2:11 pm
Posts: 395
7200-> 7400 node upgrade isn't really a big jump. Same CPU but two more cores enabled and a little more cache. 7440c is the best non-AFA 7k node.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group | DVGFX2 by: Matt